defender 300tdi air cleaner mounting - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 5th, 2009, 03:00 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
defender 300tdi air cleaner mounting

Hi

I have a disco 300tdi that I would like to put into a defender. i have the defender air cleaner and all the factory parts to mount it. The baseplate that holds the filter is held down by two of the head bolts. What is the consensus if I replace those two bolts? IIRC this is a torque-to-yield application so the bolts would have to be new. On other engines I have removed one head bolt and replaced it without issue but those were cast iron engines and re-usable bolts. I think with this arrangement I would have to take them both out at the same time in order to install the plate. Thoughts, ideas, personal insults?

Thanks,
D
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 8th, 2009, 12:05 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
bump. anybody?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 8th, 2009, 12:26 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Bastard.




Sorry, that's all I can offer.
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 8th, 2009, 02:07 PM
Hoosier's Avatar
Hoosier
Status: Offline
Chris Hinkle
More than I need
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 634
I did it on one of my 300tdi engines - but I didn't know any better at the time
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 8th, 2009, 02:49 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
guess I asked for that! does put things in perspective though.

hooseier/chris: so you did the same thing and did not have issues?

thanks
d

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC
Bastard.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 8th, 2009, 06:12 PM
Hoosier's Avatar
Hoosier
Status: Offline
Chris Hinkle
More than I need
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 634
It is doing well, but I don't think I'll do it again - makes me nervous. Pulling engines is such a pain in the butt and it's probably not worth the risk.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 18th, 2012, 12:27 PM
Broncoduecer's Avatar
Broncoduecer
Status: Offline
peter
D90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NV
Posts: 1,434
Reviving the dead here!

So I am actually in the same boat now. The engine I got didn't have the bracket on. So I now have the bracket and see that it mounts under the head bolts.

What's the proper way to install the bracket? Do you need to get a whole new bolt set and retorque them all? New gasket? Or is it fine to remove the 2 and just retorque?

The engine is rebuilt so its already new stuff.

Thanks,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 18th, 2012, 01:52 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
bronco

I did this and the engine is still going strong after 3 years and a month and 19500 miles.

Go for it. I re-used the bolts. If they are not visibly stretched they should be fine.

Good luck,
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 18th, 2012, 09:22 PM
Broncoduecer's Avatar
Broncoduecer
Status: Offline
peter
D90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NV
Posts: 1,434
Awesome thanks. Are they pretty easily identified if they are stretched?
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 18th, 2012, 10:39 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
So I have heard. Not seen it though. Suppose you could measure them, but I wouldn't worry about it too much. I was advised they could be re-used a few times without issues. There are other reasons/rationales I could give but basically I would just go for it. What are your options anyway?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoduecer View Post
Awesome thanks. Are they pretty easily identified if they are stretched?
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 18th, 2012, 11:16 PM
RiftRover's Avatar
RiftRover
Status: Offline
Mike Barnett
110
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoduecer View Post
The engine I got didn't have the bracket on. So I now have the bracket and see that it mounts under the head bolts.
Peter, where did you get the mounting bracket? I need one but haven't been able to locate it. Do you have a part number?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 18th, 2012, 11:58 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,841
Registry
Britpart knocks em off. I bought mine from Duncan @ Britcar
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 19th, 2012, 12:26 AM
Turbofan's Avatar
Turbofan
Status: Offline
Ethan
'73 SIII/ D90 Hybrid
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Westport, CT
Posts: 139
I just went through this with a truck. My concern was the same. Les at RN told me it should be fine, so I just pulled those two put the bracket on and replaced the bolts (with new ones). Haven't had a problem yet.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 19th, 2012, 07:49 AM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
The air cleaner mounting plate being caught by head bolts is a shitty set up imo, I was myself trying to find an alternative to that, but not that simple.

The head bolts can be re-use up to five times according to LR tech data. Seems a lot to me.
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 19th, 2012, 08:14 AM
Capt Milks's Avatar
Capt Milks
Status: Offline
Mike
Defender V-8, Defender 2.25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,801
The head bolts can be used up to three times according to LR. I had the same issue on one of the trucks. I ended up making a bracket that bolted to the block and then supported the air cleaner clamps. I figured this was better than risking pulling the bolts. I have heard of a couple guys pulling the bolts with out any long term issues.
__________________
Land Rover 110
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old November 20th, 2012, 11:03 AM
Broncoduecer's Avatar
Broncoduecer
Status: Offline
peter
D90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NV
Posts: 1,434
RiftRover,
I got it with my engine stuff from David (atlcruiser) but it is a britpart ERR2850. I'm not sure where he sourced them from. Britcar or paddockspares can send them to you. Not sure if RN or RDS has any.

Ren Ching,
You're right not a lot of options other than redoing it all, which seems excessive.



I will guestimate that this would be the third time reused if I take them out. Once new, twice rebuild, and third myself.

These ones are the M10 head bolts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	300Tdibracketairfilter.jpg
Views:	554
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	61238  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
300tdi, mount, tdi

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
International HS2.8L Michael Defender Technical Discussions 448 April 21st, 2017 04:58 PM
200tdi air filter mounting bracket (defender) dave_lucas Wanted 2 December 4th, 2009 08:26 PM
300Tdi wings/ radiator finisher (defender) Lyman Wanted 2 March 8th, 2006 05:51 AM
Looking for Defender 300TDi intake JimC Wanted 2 June 20th, 2004 07:55 AM
Mounting 3-Link Crossmember on 300tdi chassis Chris Cox Defender Technical Discussions 4 March 10th, 2004 02:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Copyright