Decibel test for Exmoor Trim mat - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old December 7th, 2015, 09:49 PM
SimpleJack
Joe
94 D90 NAS ST

Registry
Decibel test for Exmoor Trim mat

So I recently purchased an Exmoor trim acoustic mat for my 90. As I looked for information on decibel reduction levels through the use of a mat like this, I just couldn't find any, so I decided to try to conduct my own testing and report here. I'm not a sound engineer and don't have any special gear, but I plan to use an app on my IPad to measure decibel levels prior to and after installation of the pad. Without getting too crazy I plan to run the test by establishing certain controls and have a variety of testing conditions. That said, I'd be interested in any feedback or recommendations to give this test the best results.

Truck has stock drivetrain with magnaflow stainless cat backs, and a snorkel. I have Bridgestone dueler tires on 4.12 gears. 125k miles on 3.9. Mobil 1 used in engine. New oil in trans, xterm case and diffs. It's a softtop with a fiberglass roof on currently, sliding window tops, and the doors seal ok, but hey it's a Defender.

I plan to drive the truck on an identical route at the same time of day (10pm to cut ambient noise as much as possible). I will drive on residential neighborhood roads, city streets stop light to stop light and at highway speeds (3000k and I can get to 70 downhill!)

I plan to run the control route this week and hopefully install it this weekend.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 7th, 2015, 09:56 PM
Rocky
Chris
72 + D1 drivetrain

This is going to be interesting. My experience using the Skypa DB10 app is that holding the device in my hand results in very different readings to having it mounted in the car.
Steady speed readings are probably the easiest to duplicate.
Old December 7th, 2015, 09:58 PM
nathanwind
Jason Lavender
88-90-127-LR3