D-90 Radio Codes ...arghhhh!! - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 12th, 2006, 05:02 PM
pmd's Avatar
pmd
Status: Offline
Paul Dandini
None :-(
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerville, MA, USA
Posts: 747
D-90 Radio Codes ...arghhhh!!

I was doing some work on my D90 this past week and had to disconnect the power.
I knew the radio would need a code so last week I contacted Land Rover America via e-mail and was able to obtain the code for my radio via my Vin#. I thought great - no brainer - type in the code and I'd have my radio back.
Not the case - code did not work - I let a day go by and pressed the BND button for the CODE IN prompt and it still did not work, I pulled the radio out and discovered it was "Remanufactured" I wrote down the serial number and again contacted L.R. America - They gave me a new code and this one does not work either (this is the "arghhh!!" part).

Any advice ?

Any suggestions on a new radio if I have to go that route - I have a 6disc changer that I'd like make work.

If I do have to go the new radio route is it a big deal? Can the existing plugs and amp work with the radios in todays market?

Thanks in advance.
Paul
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 12th, 2006, 05:08 PM
Defender13's Avatar
Defender13
Status: Offline
Mike Lynch
1994 Defender 90 #1017
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hartland, MI USA
Posts: 311
Is it CD or tape? Is your changer a Land Rover changer?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 12th, 2006, 05:09 PM
woldd90's Avatar
woldd90
Status: Offline
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5,329
Two things...

See if you could track down the previous owner, the LR dealer may have their information on file. You could also post the info here, maybe someone know the PO.

Or, I think there are only a few companies that remanufacture the radio's contact them, maybe there is a way they can look it up.

Second, use a hammer. :-)

Scott
__________________
Scott

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old May 12th, 2006, 05:27 PM
pmd's Avatar
pmd
Status: Offline
Paul Dandini
None :-(
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerville, MA, USA
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by woldd90
Two things...

Second, use a hammer. :-)

Scott
A Hammer is sounding like an option .

The radio is the standard Factory cassette radio just like in the 97 Owners Manual.
The 6 disc CD chander is a newer Clarion (PO bought it about a year ago +/-).
I contacted the Land Rover Dealer/Service center that the PO has worked with and they had the old code on file.

Thanks for responding..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 12th, 2006, 08:30 PM
snuffer's Avatar
snuffer
Status: Offline
Randy Black
'95 D 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa Ok USA
Posts: 753
John at www.roverville.us should be able to answer any radio/stereo questions.

He's a great guy. He's got a strange English/Arkansas accent though.
__________________
The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not. -Thomas Jefferson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 12th, 2006, 11:43 PM
Oxcart13's Avatar
Oxcart13
Status: Offline
Mark M
D110
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 393
I had a similar problem with my truck - radio not original to the truck. I ended up finding the right code, but after exceeded three attempts to get the incorrect orginal code to work. I did a little more research and found that after three attempts you have to leave the radio powered up for 30 or 60 minutes (can't remember exactly) in order for the head unit to give you the CODE IN prompt again. Might be something to consider. HTH. Mark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 15th, 2006, 04:29 PM
BarryO
Status: Offline
Barry O'Mahony
97 D-90 SW LE
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 281
Also, some times the radio does not "reset" properly when you re-attach the power. It won't accept the code in this case. It is necessary to disconnect power, wait a while (20-30 seconds), and re-connect.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 15th, 2006, 04:53 PM
pmd's Avatar
pmd
Status: Offline
Paul Dandini
None :-(
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerville, MA, USA
Posts: 747
Well - I tried several different ways - disconnect power - retry, wait 60+ mins retry, wait 24 hours retry.

Decided to upgrade to a new receiver - anyone need a Clarion DC625 6disc CD changer w/ cable?



Now I just need to work on the feedback noise issues I am getting thru the speakers - I'll rejump that post..

Thanks for your input..
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 15th, 2006, 04:58 PM
thewap's Avatar
thewap
Status: Offline
Marc
'95 D90 SW#106
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Highmount, NY
Posts: 834
Registry
Well I had fried my radio by spilling coffee into the tape deck...to repair it would have been more expensive. Then I bought one on ebay with the understanding that the seller would provide the vin#. He didn't in the end, and I had to
return the "new radio". I then decided to get an Alpine. I got a conversion harness from the UK. I had to hard wire the conversion head to the car wires. A little bit of a hassle but got it done, and the Alpine CD unit is a HUGE upgrade to the original radio.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 15th, 2006, 05:45 PM
BarryO
Status: Offline
Barry O'Mahony
97 D-90 SW LE
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewap
the Alpine CD unit is a HUGE upgrade to the original radio.
Yea, but do you get the weather band?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 15th, 2006, 06:51 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
radios

For the 1994-1995 NAS D90 you can use a VW/Mazda wiring adaptor (clutchfiedl.com) to avoid cutting the factory harness. You have to change a couple of the pins around but it works without cutting.
In the 1997 NAS D90 you have to cut the harness.

You can get radio codes from the serial # on the radio itself, so even if a guy doesn't give you a VIN of the car it came out of you can still get the radio code.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 16th, 2006, 10:22 AM
mhansen's Avatar
mhansen
Status: Offline
Mike Hansen
97 D-90 SW #2243
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch,CO,USA
Posts: 586
If your truck has ever been serviced by the dealer, the invoice should have the radio code printed on the top of the page. Assuming that you kept one.
__________________
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.
--Benjamin Franklin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 16th, 2006, 09:30 PM
48vphantom's Avatar
48vphantom
Status: Offline
Jeff Hoien
1997 NAS D90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 96
Paul, you should contact John at http://www.roverville.us/ as stated earlier. I think he was buying those clarion radios from peoplef for his business.
jeff
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 17th, 2006, 06:28 PM
pmd's Avatar
pmd
Status: Offline
Paul Dandini
None :-(
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerville, MA, USA
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by 48vphantom
Paul, you should contact John at http://www.roverville.us/ as stated earlier. I think he was buying those clarion radios from peoplef for his business.
jeff
Thanks - I will...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
90, d-90, radio

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Radio plugs work in 95 D90? Gkase Defender Technical Discussions 11 July 25th, 2011 12:41 PM
How do I get my radio to work???? Chris Cox Defender Technical Discussions 5 May 31st, 2008 09:49 PM
'97 Defender radio & changer setup? Defender50th Defender Technical Discussions 6 September 27th, 2005 11:22 PM
Electrical short with my radio ? paulb Defender Technical Discussions 4 August 11th, 2004 12:25 PM
factory radio mpodgorski Defender Technical Discussions 0 October 23rd, 2003 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Copyright