D-90 Newbie - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 6th, 2009, 09:09 PM
clthonraltam
Matt Murphy
None

D-90 Newbie

I am a newbie to land rovers and have never owned one. I have always wanted a defender, specifically a 90. I am doing some leg work on D-90's to try and decide if I want a NAS, POE, or a 83/84 import. there are obvious advantages to all of them. I am mainly asking about the maintence on either on of them. Seeing as they are similar. I am semi mechanically inclined. Nothing too complicated. But I would like to get an idea of what I would be getting myself into. Will it constantly be in the shop? What are some things I should look for. I know they have rust issues. Are there any helpful articles, books, websites that I should read before committing? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old February 6th, 2009, 10:34 PM
Paul Davis
Paul Davis
97 ST

Search this site for virtually any question or random thought you might have. It is almost a certainty it has been covered.

The only real issues Land Rovers have are rust, electrical, paint, wiring, the occasional engine fire caused by old oil cooler lines, carburator issues, poor gas mileage, and the ever persistent need to go open the hood to see what the hell is leaking out of it now.

Other than that, they are a very well made and dependable vehicle.
Old February 6th, 2009, 11:18 PM
bennett
Bennett
'97 Defender 90 Soft Top #1140

Registry
Matt,

I was in a similar position a year ago. I had an early 80's grey market G-wagon for years, but wanted the 90, too because im greedy.