BMW engine mounts - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old August 15th, 2014, 12:44 PM
bish1865
Bruce Bishop
1985 Defender 110

BMW engine mounts

I found these on the internet yesterday and due to thier configuration and being oil filled I thought they may cut down on diesel vibration on my 2.5. Your thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw mounts.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	100941  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 15th, 2014, 12:51 PM
Ren Ching
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"

Registry
I saw those too. You'll probably need to modify the brackets to make them work.

I have no personal experience to base this on, but form looking around on the web it seems the liquid-filled mounts can leak after some time. Not sure if use in a LR would accelerate that process or not but given LR's propensity for leaking, I wouldn't be surprised. Though it seems like leaking doesn't mean catastrophic sudden failure so probably worth the effort if they will reduce the NVH aspect of our rides. That said, it is funny how some of the owners whose cars come with liquid-filled mounts are clamoring to change over to solid ones. Everyone wants what they don't have...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bish1865 View Post
I found these on the internet yesterday and due to thier configuration and being oil filled I thought they may cut down on diesel vibration on my 2.5. Your thoughts?
Old August 15th, 2014, 01:02 PM
sonoronos
Ed
None

Registry
I'm all for people trying to improve things on these trucks, but I've personally never found the vibration itself of the LR I4 diesel to be much of a problem.