Anyone use a different idle air control valve (stepper motor)? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old October 13th, 2009, 01:04 AM
Baja 90
Status: Offline
Raul
97 D90, 94 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 101
Anyone use a different idle air control valve (stepper motor)?

Hi Guys,
I know there are a-lot of threads asking about putting in different stepper motors, or idle air control valves in 90's. I've read that the 80 Triumph Tr8's will fit, one thread sent me to a RR site that says the 87 Chevy Astro's will fit. I'm just worried I'll buy one and it won't work. Has anyone put one of these (or any other) on a 97 Defender? I need one, any ideas? Or do I have to fork up the $180, ouch! Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old October 13th, 2009, 01:17 AM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
Buy a used one out of a 1996-99 DI from roverguy.com
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 13th, 2009, 02:13 AM
ipgregory's Avatar
ipgregory
Status: Offline
Ian Gregory
'97 D90 ST #1008
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Posts: 1,083
Registry
OEM Part # AC-151. $35 or so from Autozone/Checkers. Straight cross for a 4.0 GEMS like you have in the 97.

Chances are that you may need to drop by the dealer and have the base idle re-set though as well if you put in a new one (genuine or otherwise). Sometimes the ECU will work it out, sometimes not.

Have you tried cleaning the one you have?

HTH

Ian
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old October 13th, 2009, 06:28 AM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,522
Registry
Running a napa stepper with a number I got off range rovers.net with good results.
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 13th, 2009, 10:43 AM
61rover's Avatar
61rover
Status: Offline
John Crouse
'93 NAS D110 (#8) / '61 Series II
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,116
Registry
I installed the Chevy Astro equivilent from Autozone and have had zero problems.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 13th, 2009, 10:43 AM
Hans's Avatar
Hans
Status: Offline
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,381
Running a GM part number in mine for about 6 months now with no problems (at least, no problems with THAT part)
__________________
My oil line fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 13th, 2009, 11:19 AM
Baja 90
Status: Offline
Raul
97 D90, 94 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipgregory
OEM Part # AC-151. $35 or so from Autozone/Checkers. Straight cross for a 4.0 GEMS like you have in the 97.

Chances are that you may need to drop by the dealer and have the base idle re-set though as well if you put in a new one (genuine or otherwise). Sometimes the ECU will work it out, sometimes not.

Have you tried cleaning the one you have?

HTH

Ian
I have tried cleaning it, idle is still going crazy. Sometimes high, sometimes low, sometimes just fine. Ian, you got me thinking, I have a battery cuttoff switch that I turn on and off often. Do you guys think that may have messed with the ECU? Maybe I just have the base idle re-set and go from there?
Thanks for your help guys, wish I could buy everybody a few rounds!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 13th, 2009, 07:32 PM
Defenderbuser's Avatar
Defenderbuser
Status: Offline
Chuck Duncan
1994 D90 Softop
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: HOlly Springs, NC, USA
Posts: 22
I've had good luck with the $35 Advance Auto Astro Van part.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 14th, 2009, 03:08 PM
texmoto
Status: Offline
david summers
99 Discovery II
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: fort worth, tx usa
Posts: 109
Ditto on the GM part, on my '94 90. Runs fine with no idle adjustment.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 16th, 2009, 12:18 AM
ipgregory's Avatar
ipgregory
Status: Offline
Ian Gregory
'97 D90 ST #1008
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Posts: 1,083
Registry
He says he has a 97 which has a unique set up and IACV compared to that on the 3.9s fitted in previous years. The 3.9 is fitted to the rear of the plenum chamber, the 4.0 is next to the TPS on the throttle body.

Baja 90. Yes your symptoms are exactly those of requiring the base idle to be reset. Your ECU has lost touch with the motor and has been unable to resync properly (it doesn't know where the plunger is and has been unable to work it out on it's own). I am not sure if it is because of your Ground cut off though.

It will take about 20 mins at a dealer and cost you your 1st born...

I would suggest checking over your Vacuum hoses as well to make sure you don't have any leaks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 16th, 2009, 12:21 AM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
I would not use a battery cut off on a GEMS truck.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 16th, 2009, 01:15 AM
Baja 90
Status: Offline
Raul
97 D90, 94 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 101
Thanks for all your help guys. I was talking to some friends and they suggested to drive for a while to give the computer some time to re-set. Hopefully that works. Won't be using the cutoff switch anytime soon! Thanks for taking the time, I'll keep you posted.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 16th, 2009, 01:21 AM
thewap's Avatar
thewap
Status: Offline
Marc
'95 D90 SW#106
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Highmount, NY
Posts: 834
Registry
When I replaced my batteries a while back, it took a little while for the ecu to relearn idle and the truck would idle high and low until it did. I wouldn't put a battery cut off in my 95 Def.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
idle, motor

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idle Control Valve (idle stepper motor) fleabus For Sale - Parts 3 June 28th, 2009 12:13 AM
Stepper Motor- idle air control 1995 Scott 9835 Defender Technical Discussions 3 October 23rd, 2006 02:20 PM
Clunk - Die milli Defender Technical Discussions 62 October 7th, 2005 07:27 PM
Code 48 Stepper motor devinchi Defender Technical Discussions 8 September 8th, 2005 05:43 PM
Stepper motor same on RR? waveridin1959 Defender Technical Discussions 15 December 16th, 2004 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Copyright