anyone got cruise control ? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2010, 11:31 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
anyone got cruise control ?

Has anyone here fitted cruise control to a defender-specifically a 300 tdi ?
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 07:27 AM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
I'm on a mission. I do long road trips with the 130, 19hrs on the road kind of stuff, and cruise would be nice. Have a truck sitting around that has cruise just wondering if I can make it work on the defender....
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 07:34 AM
junkyddog11's Avatar
junkyddog11
Status: Offline
oil soaked filter
95 RRC 300tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: No. Berwick, Maine
Posts: 1,253
I have fit it to a 300tdi Range Rover and it was a pain in the arse even with the available factory parts to do it. It really doesn't work that well either with a mechanical diesel. IMO not worth the hassle for the result.
It's is much easier to accomplish with electronically controlled motors, most of which have factory supported cruise in one variant or another.
__________________
Matt Browne


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
new expansion complete. Not only are we the only Rover shop in Eliot Maine...now we're also the biggest.

"Dedicated to the resurrection of junk through engineering?"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 07:38 AM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
damn. there you go popping my bubble....hope to get that steering column off to you early next week
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 07:40 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Hand throttle?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 10:01 AM
MUDSUX's Avatar
MUDSUX
Status: Offline
Forrest
Like my Tatas?
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl. US
Posts: 1,641
Registry
Doug,

How about this system? Some requirements: 12 V vehicle electrics, mechanical throttle linkage, vacuum power source. I don't know much about a 300TDI, does it have a mechanical throttle linkage? I hope this helps.


http://www.waeco.com/EN/298_452.php
http://www.waeco.com/tmp/MS_50_EB_10S_01.PDF


A nice writeup:
http://forum.landrovernet.com/showth...cruise-control
__________________
MUDSUX

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"It is the soldier, who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag that allows the protester to burn the flag"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 01:12 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
Hand throttle?
I have one in the series and one for a defender somewhere in the attic.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 01:36 PM
grnrvrs's Avatar
grnrvrs
Status: Offline
Paul
88
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: west
Posts: 1,393
Got a brick?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 01:36 PM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
Ron ,
If you want to sell that hand throttle let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 02:42 PM
johan's Avatar
johan
Status: Offline
johan
2009 Range Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rockford, MI, USA
Posts: 869
I have one in my Defender 300Tdi for almost 13 years, works great.
Bought it as an after market kit, make is John Gold. I thought it was made in US but I can only find a Dutch website about it.
http://www.goldautomotive.nl/

http://www.goldautomotive.nl/page---...nieken_82.aspx

It has an electric motor with a cable, very easy to connect to the lever of the injection pump.
Speed sensor, ECU and brake switch are quite easy to install.

I don't know if there are any US suppliers of this.
__________________
Johan
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 03:04 PM
o2batsea's Avatar
o2batsea
Status: Offline
Bill Adams
66 109 sw 94 lwb
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: kensington md
Posts: 6,501
Registry
Morse ST single and a 3300 cable.
__________________
Bill Adams

1966 109 5 door wagon 300Tdi "spermaceti fueled"
1994 RRC LeWiB "ruining the air behind me"
1968 2A 88

All my troubles are Rover
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 23rd, 2010, 08:40 PM
junkyddog11's Avatar
junkyddog11
Status: Offline
oil soaked filter
95 RRC 300tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: No. Berwick, Maine
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maryland 110 View Post
damn. there you go popping my bubble....hope to get that steering column off to you early next week
Didn't mean to let you down like that....

as Johan pointed out there are aftermarket systems. I had a customer truck with a similar set-up on a 110 a few years back and it worked OK, but frustratingly slow to react. It was installed by "one of those other shops" , and I never messed with it, but would think it could be better.
__________________
Matt Browne


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
new expansion complete. Not only are we the only Rover shop in Eliot Maine...now we're also the biggest.

"Dedicated to the resurrection of junk through engineering?"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 24th, 2010, 12:59 AM
Viton's Avatar
Viton
Status: Offline
Deaf Ember
Smart 4x4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: La
Posts: 1,231
I have one in my '97 BUT I have an auto box and power brakes too. I used the factory speed senor (near the transfer case output) that drives the electronic speedometer for the speed sensor and tapped into the power brake vacuum line for the vacuum sensor. I'm using a unit made by Audiovox that I bought from PEP BOYS in 2002. Works great, never had a problem with it. Cost about $100.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 6th, 2010, 10:50 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
thats what I'm looking for !
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 7th, 2010, 07:52 AM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Its pretty easy actually, and works well.
In the Tdi you'll just need to swap around your speedo cables and do a little mix and match so that you can supply the aftermarket cruise unit with a speed signal. We use the V8 EFI speedo cable (or you can use a VDO sensor) for the systems speed signal. The rest is nut and bolt stuff combined with some linkage bits and you are set. The new aftermarket systems are pretty slick actually and you program them sorta the way you do a VDO speedo.

Back 15 years ago or so the only aftermarket system they had only used a tachometer signal to drive the system and those sucked pretty bad (because it only read rpms, not road speed), but new ones can work just like a factory install (other than the fact you'll have to put the controls somewhere and that won't look very good (but that my my opinion).
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 7th, 2010, 08:08 AM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
I was asking because I am going to Td5 gauges when I do the lhd conversion and will have an electronic speed sensor for that speedo and no cables. Sounds like I need to start shopping
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 7th, 2010, 08:18 AM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
That'll work just fine.
Just make sure the unit you buy is programmable. Some of the lower end ones only let you select a few examples of the input signal pulse count from the speedo sensor by flipping some dip switches and they may or may not have the pulse rate that the late model speedo sender puts out. If you find one that works like the VDO speedo (it grabs the pulse rate according to what you tell it to do) those work better.

Its kinda like power locks. Yes, it is another system to fail and if you don't know how to install and wire them they are scary, but if you do it right it will last for decades and be nice to have if you want a little convenience.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old May 7th, 2010, 09:29 AM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECR View Post
That'll work just fine.
Just make sure the unit you buy is programmable. Some of the lower end ones only let you select a few examples of the input signal pulse count from the speedo sensor by flipping some dip switches and they may or may not have the pulse rate that the late model speedo sender puts out. If you find one that works like the VDO speedo (it grabs the pulse rate according to what you tell it to do) those work better.

Its kinda like power locks. Yes, it is another system to fail and if you don't know how to install and wire them they are scary, but if you do it right it will last for decades and be nice to have if you want a little convenience.
Got a brand or model you suggest-preferably aesthetically pleasing as well ? Working towards driving the beat up old 130 to Moab in October-if the stars and planets align.
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 7th, 2010, 05:04 PM
diesel_jim's Avatar
diesel_jim
Status: Offline
Jamie Austin
1992 110 Td5 CSW & 1989 MB G-Wagen
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maryland 110 View Post
I was asking because I am going to Td5 gauges when I do the lhd conversion and will have an electronic speed sensor for that speedo and no cables. Sounds like I need to start shopping

You may already know about it, but the Wibbly wobbly speedo thread on LR4x4 will tell you all you need to know on how to install a Td5 dash onto an older wiring loom.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 7th, 2010, 05:28 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Online
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by diesel_jim View Post
You may already know about it, but the Wibbly wobbly speedo thread on LR4x4 will tell you all you need to know on how to install a Td5 dash onto an older wiring loom.
Thanks Jamie,
Yes we printed that whole thread out and used it when we converted my brothers rhd 2.5 petrol 83 110 to: lhd, td5 dash, and Tdi. Lots of solder and heat shrink.
Doug
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noise control ttrover Defender Technical Discussions 37 November 29th, 2011 09:21 PM
99 RR Body Control Module chrisvonc Wanted 0 March 24th, 2006 11:16 AM
Wanted: wiper control cdnpaul Wanted 1 February 12th, 2006 05:45 PM
cruise control? kolvedic Defender Technical Discussions 10 October 18th, 2005 03:27 AM
Ford Duraspark replacement Ignition Control Module ICM jcasteel Defender Technical Discussions 0 June 7th, 2005 02:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Copyright