Another 200tdi No Start Thread - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old January 10th, 2010, 04:11 PM
Wolf Fabrication
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor

Registry
Another 200tdi No Start Thread

First, I am a diesel newbie. I know gas motors just fine, but these diesels are foreign to me (literally!).

Anyway, it's a Disco 200tdi. I just replaced the timing belt and tensioner, fuel filter, and oil and filter a few weeks ago. The truck fired right up after the timing belt install. A week ago when I tried to start it it would not fire. When I pressed my glow plug button (yes, I have a button) for a little bit it eventually fired and ran just fine. The other day it fired up and ran great again.

Now today it won't fire up at all. It's in my garage at about 35 degrees. Battery shows 12.10V. I've tried the glow plugs, and tested that they had power, they do. I tested the power lead to the injection pump and it's good. I disconnected the fuel lead to #1 cylinder and got no fuel when I crank the motor over. Does this sound like the fuel pump? I tried pumping the lever and it seem too easy to pump by hand.

I do not have a water/debris separator on the truck.

Anyone have any ideas?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 10th, 2010, 04:32 PM
Ren Ching
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf Fabrication View Post
First, I am a diesel newbie. I know gas motors just fine, but these diesels are foreign to me (literally!).