Air conditioning switch??? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:31 AM
Spenc1tj's Avatar
Spenc1tj
Status: Offline
TJ Spencer
1997 NAS Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Toledo, OH, USA
Posts: 121
Air conditioning switch???

Here it goes! Ok, I have a 97 NAS D90. Back in 1999 she had a catastrophic fire in the fuse box that ended up burning/totaling the 90. We got her all restored sometime back in 2001. When we got it fixed we did not replace the A/C unit in the interior. The AC pump however is still on and all the lines are still hooked up. So the only thing I think I'm missing to activate the AC is the switch, right? Do you think I could activate it and have AC air blowing threw my defrost and floor vents? Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:45 AM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
hmm. the AC doesn't blow through your defrost. That's the heater duct which is a separate unit. You only get AC through the AC facia vents. To answer your question - it depends on the condition of the fascia unit and the wiring harness. it's not clear to me if you're is damaged or not.

I had to replace my whole harness for mine due to a fault. I have some spare's I'd sell if you need them. switches, AC ECU, the old harness that you could cut sections out of to replace damaged ones.

You need to test your compressor to make sure the clutch still works (single wire on the compressor) and if the AC refrigerant lines where ever opened due to the fault, you would obviously need recharge after replacing the drier. but I would start with testing the harness to make sure everything is operational.
__________________
Mark Kellgren
KM4BOR

ISIL and al qaeda can go F*ck themselves...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:57 AM
Spenc1tj's Avatar
Spenc1tj
Status: Offline
TJ Spencer
1997 NAS Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Toledo, OH, USA
Posts: 121
I do not have a facia. Do no AC for me it sounds like. Anyone know if I can get a belt to bypass the pump?

------ Follow up post added March 29th, 2014 09:57 AM ------

....So*
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 29th, 2014, 11:24 AM
rijosho's Avatar
rijosho
Status: Offline
Joshua
1995 Black ST - Rhinolined edition
Research Assistant/Eagle Eyes
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,557
Registry
Pics...
__________________
Quote:
I am talking purely from an aesthetics standpoint.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 29th, 2014, 11:42 AM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
well it's easy enough to add. if you have the compressor, that's half the cost right there. time to time folks on here sell components. Ron probably has 3 complete AC units on his guest bathroom sink right now.
__________________
Mark Kellgren
KM4BOR

ISIL and al qaeda can go F*ck themselves...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 29th, 2014, 01:11 PM
Spenc1tj's Avatar
Spenc1tj
Status: Offline
TJ Spencer
1997 NAS Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Toledo, OH, USA
Posts: 121
Ok, the AC facia add on is so big and bulky though. So I cannot have AC blowing through the feet or defrost vents? I figured if I switched he AC pump on and turned my system to "cold" it would be AC air blowing through. I will post a pic in a little bit. All it is is a normal NAS dash with no AC add on.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 29th, 2014, 01:41 PM
Spenc1tj's Avatar
Spenc1tj
Status: Offline
TJ Spencer
1997 NAS Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Toledo, OH, USA
Posts: 121
Ohhh ok, that makes sense! So the evap coil is the coil that becomes cold to cool the flowing air correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 29th, 2014, 02:27 PM
Videoguy
Status: Offline
Ron
1997 Defender 90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Palm Desert, CA
Posts: 35
AC

All 97 D90 came with a compressor regardless of whether the interior unit was installed. You cannot run a 97 without the compressor installed unless you can find a special belt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Conditioning Floridadan Defender Technical Discussions 6 November 9th, 2005 08:12 PM
Air Conditioning Parts Question for 1995 D-90 Retrofit Heath Defender Technical Discussions 2 May 25th, 2005 02:54 PM
Air conditioning scottheise Defender Technical Discussions 4 October 8th, 2004 10:13 AM
Electric Fans & Air Conditioning javelinadave Defender Technical Discussions 12 June 6th, 2004 08:44 AM
Air Conditioning azdefender Wanted 2 March 8th, 2004 01:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Copyright