Advice need!!! Please help!!! - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 8th, 2006, 09:25 PM
reaper99999
Eric Yip
95 Alpine White SW

Advice need!!! Please help!!!

I am a newbie trying to buy his first d90 and is running into some issues. Wondering if all you seasoned landies would give me some advices.

The car that I want to buy (2 owner 95 SW 150K mi) just went through a PPI with Leakdown and Compression test done.

Here are the major problems found:

* One of the cyclinders is lower. Here's the actual data (1:150 2:150 3:160 4:160 5:150 6:75 7:160 8:150)
How serious is this? The shop that did the PPI said it would cost $1600 to pull the head out and retool the valves.

* Fuel pump return valve is leaking.
How serious is this? The shop said $600 to replace the fuel pump.

* Vacuum advance unit not functioning.
How serious is this? The shop said $250 to fix this.

* Radiator is clogged and needs rodding out.
How serious is this? The shop said $400 to fix this.

Other problems:
* Oil Pan leaking
* Power steering lines leak
* Transfer case leaking
* Transfer case noisy and has slight clunk
* Rear pinion seal leaks
* Valve cover gaskets leaks
* Fronk crank seal leaks
* Rear 'A' arm bushings need replacing
* Front radius arm bushings need replacing
* Engine mount sagging
* Headliner sagging
* Inner left door handle sticks

The car is otherwise very clean.

I know some of these problems are to be expected for a car this age, but some seems to be pretty serious. Which of these problems need immediate attention? Which of these things could I service myself? Ultimately, how much is a fair price to pay? The owner is asking for about 22K.

For reference, last month I almost bought a 130K 95 SW w/ rebuilt engine and transmission for 21750.

Any comments and advices would be greatly appreciated.

Thx,
Eric
Sponsored Links
Advertisement