AC Fuse Box Cover? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 19th, 2013, 05:07 PM
Wolf Fabrication's Avatar
Wolf Fabrication
Status: Offline
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oahu, HI
Posts: 7,453
Registry
AC Fuse Box Cover?

Is there a different main fuse box cover for trucks with AC? There is no way a non-AC cover fits....
__________________
"The most unreliable car in the world is the most reliable car in the world." -Jeremy Clarkson refering to the Range Rover


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old April 19th, 2013, 05:52 PM
rijosho's Avatar
rijosho
Status: Offline
Joshua
1995 Black ST - Rhinolined edition
Research Assistant/Eagle Eyes
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,557
Registry
Pretty sure they're the same. I know mine is a super right fit (I have A/C) though. I think I usually put it in 4th gear then slide the fuse box cover up and over (to remove) or over and down into place when installing. The cover is plastic and bends a little to get it down in there. Maybe the A/C was mounted too low, in which case I could see why it would be even more difficult to get down in there.
__________________
Quote:
I am talking purely from an aesthetics standpoint.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 19th, 2013, 05:59 PM
Wolf Fabrication's Avatar
Wolf Fabrication
Status: Offline
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oahu, HI
Posts: 7,453
Registry
Yeah, this one isn't even close to fitting, seems odd.
__________________
"The most unreliable car in the world is the most reliable car in the world." -Jeremy Clarkson refering to the Range Rover


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old April 19th, 2013, 06:13 PM
rijosho's Avatar
rijosho
Status: Offline
Joshua
1995 Black ST - Rhinolined edition
Research Assistant/Eagle Eyes
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,557
Registry
Pics? Can you get it on without the transmission boot or arm on? Is there a super thick transmission cover on, etc.?

Here is mine without the cover on, but it does fit in there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1832797483.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	392.1 KB
ID:	70397  
__________________
Quote:
I am talking purely from an aesthetics standpoint.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 19th, 2013, 06:50 PM
Wolf Fabrication's Avatar
Wolf Fabrication
Status: Offline
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oahu, HI
Posts: 7,453
Registry
Here's mine. It's not even close to fitting. So the big question is whether the fuse cover is different between 94 and 95? I've retrofitted a 94 AC system in to a 95, and the 94 cover doesn't fit.

Can someone post a pic of the '94 cover?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-690729540.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	466.7 KB
ID:	70398   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3101859437.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	425.2 KB
ID:	70399  

__________________
"The most unreliable car in the world is the most reliable car in the world." -Jeremy Clarkson refering to the Range Rover


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 19th, 2013, 07:07 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
You have to trim the top of the cover to fit it in a 94 system.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 19th, 2013, 07:10 PM
Wolf Fabrication's Avatar
Wolf Fabrication
Status: Offline
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oahu, HI
Posts: 7,453
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilfij View Post
You have to trim the top of the cover to fit it in a 94 system.
That's pretty much what I was thinking, just wanted to make sure there wasn't another cover before I started cutting up a good cover!
__________________
"The most unreliable car in the world is the most reliable car in the world." -Jeremy Clarkson refering to the Range Rover


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 19th, 2013, 07:15 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
Someone might have one pre cut.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 19th, 2013, 07:33 PM
CDeWan
Status: Offline
Clay DeWan
5.3L beastie
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,493
what Ron said

They are different. Not AC's are taller and 94 ACs covers need to be cut. There might be an inside scoring line on where to cut or see if you can post in the wanted section.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 19th, 2013, 10:18 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
I swapped mine with the person I bought the AC from.
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 24th, 2013, 11:56 AM
CDeWan
Status: Offline
Clay DeWan
5.3L beastie
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,493
Wolf,
Did you find a cover?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 24th, 2013, 12:02 PM
Wolf Fabrication's Avatar
Wolf Fabrication
Status: Offline
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oahu, HI
Posts: 7,453
Registry
I believe I did. I left the deal with my customer who's making the switch

Cheers
__________________
"The most unreliable car in the world is the most reliable car in the world." -Jeremy Clarkson refering to the Range Rover


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old April 24th, 2013, 01:05 PM
Capt Milks's Avatar
Capt Milks
Status: Offline
Mike
Defender V-8, Defender 2.25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,801
Here is a picture of the instruction manual for the older Diavia systems. I think they made the factory set ups back in the day.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Diavia fuse box cover.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	132.8 KB
ID:	70699  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ac, cover

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cover fuse box for defender new in box and lev-o-gage sr jonathon For Sale - Parts 2 December 3rd, 2012 06:39 PM
new fuse box cover mattdh For Sale - Parts 10 March 29th, 2006 01:24 AM
Fuel Pump Fuse Blows all the Time now! thug1313 Defender Technical Discussions 9 March 2nd, 2006 07:55 PM
Fuse Box easy to replace? waveridin1959 Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 5th, 2005 08:11 PM
Engine Fuse Box Cover thug1313 Wanted 3 April 20th, 2005 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Copyright