97 AC Facia Removal? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old November 20th, 2006, 02:01 AM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
Exclamation 97 AC Facia Removal?

Does anyone here have some tips on removing the A/C facia from 97 system without disturbing the system itself? I can't seem to find any fasteners or screws as a starting point.

I think 97's are Winn's, but I'm not sure.

I'm attempting to do a little wiring around the main harness located behind the fuse box, but my A/C system is in the way.

Any advice is greatly appreicated.

DJ
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old November 20th, 2006, 06:27 AM
Hoosier's Avatar
Hoosier
Status: Offline
Chris Hinkle
More than I need
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 634
Carefully remove vents - screws should be accessable thru them. Fascia should come off easily.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 20th, 2006, 01:29 PM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
Thanks Chris.

That's the last place I would have looked.

One last question. Is any of the A/C plumbing disturbed by the removal of the facia or is a separate piece all together?

Thanks again, Chris.

DJ
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old November 20th, 2006, 02:18 PM
dmarchand's Avatar
dmarchand
Status: Offline
David Marchand
'97 D90 SW Arles
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 2,862
Registry
Funny, I just did this. No plumbing tied to the AC fascia, just wiring harness. All the plumbing is in the lower section of the footwell. Their may be a screw or two at the rear of the fascia on the driver footwell (accessed in the footwell).


You get that dash panel working yet?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 20th, 2006, 02:58 PM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarchand
Funny, I just did this. No plumbing tied to the AC fascia, just wiring harness. All the plumbing is in the lower section of the footwell. Their may be a screw or two at the rear of the fascia on the driver footwell (accessed in the footwell).


You get that dash panel working yet?
That's nice to hear. Man you always one step ahead Dave!

I started to install the dash light and realized what mess of wires I had. I got to where I could test the lamp first, but then my priorities changed when I ran into my mess of wires. So I'm trying to re-plumb both my acc. fuses and relay's through the bulk head. It was already plumbed this way, but was a real nightmare.

I'm looking for the hub where all the factory fuses & relays get thier power from and possibly tap into it. In order to do this the A/C fascia has to go. It's just too tight with it there.

I let you know when I get that dash lamp up and working.

DJ

PS I've almost got my hands on a LaSalle liner. I had two of five guys drop out of a group order, but I still think it could work. I can't wait to get that in!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 21st, 2006, 09:46 AM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
UPDATE:

Something for the archives. Removing the facia was pretty easy. As chris said three screws behind the vents were all that was needed to be removed. Once they were accessed through their ports the facia came right off. However, the switch that modulates the temperature runs directly into the core. I assume its a thermocouple because it popped right out and didn't have any type of attachment on it. Hopefully that's what it is and when I'm done it'll go right back in.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 21st, 2006, 10:00 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Menasco
UPDATE:
I assume its a thermocouple because it popped right out and didn't have any type of attachment on it. Hopefully that's what it is and when I'm done it'll go right back in.
Thats exactly what it is and it will. You are good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 21st, 2006, 02:55 PM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
Awesome. Thanks for confirm that Jim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
97, ac

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charging AC in a 97 artm Defender Technical Discussions 2 August 18th, 2009 11:33 PM
97 AC blower motor - one or two? artm Defender Technical Discussions 0 March 3rd, 2009 02:25 PM
Complete 97 D90 AC unit budz For Sale - Parts 5 December 8th, 2008 01:43 PM
Partial '97 d-90 AC unit dmarchand For Sale - Parts 10 November 4th, 2008 10:52 AM
WTB 97 NAS D90 AC system ECR Wanted 7 July 16th, 2008 07:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Copyright