'95 D90 3.9L missing for 10' after start... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Join the Defender Source Community Today

Old August 5th, 2011, 08:07 PM
Kevin Judice
'95 D90 SW Coniston Green
'95 D90 3.9L missing for 10' after start...

I'm new to the Defender world, new to the board despite lurking for quite a while, and only moderately capable with a wrench, so my apologies in advance if any of this sounds stupid....but here goes.

I bought a '95 D90 SW back in May with 160k on it. From looking at the service records it appears that it's had new O2 sensors installed in the last 20k miles. Since I took ownership of it, I've had the following done by a local garage:

--new cats
--plenum leaks fixed
--new seal on the xfer case
--engine de-gunked, oil changed, etc
--new plugs
--new fuel pump, sediment removed and tank cleaned while it was out
--new fuel filter
--compression checked (all ok except #8, which is at 125 psi)
--installed a bulb in the CEL slot, which was empty when I got it (ouch).

The rig runs great, for the most part now. It passed smog. It is really fun to drive, especially offroad. My sons love getting it into deep mud, going up hills, and generally raising hell.

It occasionally throws a 44 code, but as mentioned before the O2 sensors are relatively new and the connections seem good. If I clear the code via disconnecting the ECU, the CEL light remains off for varying periods of time, but never longer than a day or two...then it throws the same code. No luck sorting that out yet.

In short, from what I can tell from reading the boards, a fairly normal Defender experience so far, especially given the mileage.