'93 NAS 110 t-case suggestion - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old September 12th, 2012, 03:52 PM
]-[ @ n $'s Avatar
]-[ @ n $
Status: Offline
Hans
Hunting
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 349
Registry
'93 NAS 110 t-case suggestion

I am looking at buying a '93 NAS 110 that just dumped its T-Case. If I buy the truck, I'll do a 4.6 upgrade (at some point). It already has an automatic tranny.

Which T-case would you put back in the truck, if not the stock case rebuilt?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old September 12th, 2012, 04:16 PM
Jake1996d1's Avatar
Jake1996d1
Status: Offline
Jake
96 Disco/88 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ankeny IA
Posts: 451
What size tires?

------ Follow up post added September 12th, 2012 03:19 PM ------

and LT77 I assume?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 12th, 2012, 04:25 PM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
I would go with the very latest (Q series?) 1.2 T-case I could get.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old September 12th, 2012, 04:29 PM
Jake1996d1's Avatar
Jake1996d1
Status: Offline
Jake
96 Disco/88 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ankeny IA
Posts: 451
sorry I cant read suffix F 1.2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 12th, 2012, 04:57 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
I would put in a 1.2 and I don't care much about Q or not Q.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 12th, 2012, 05:14 PM
]-[ @ n $'s Avatar
]-[ @ n $
Status: Offline
Hans
Hunting
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 349
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake1996d1 View Post
What size tires?

------ Follow up post added September 12th, 2012 03:19 PM ------

and LT77 I assume?
Not sure what's in it now - but whatever was stock. Headed over to see it tonight. I would eventually run 31" tires on it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 12th, 2012, 05:33 PM
Jake1996d1's Avatar
Jake1996d1
Status: Offline
Jake
96 Disco/88 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ankeny IA
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by ]-[ @ n $ View Post
Not sure what's in it now - but whatever was stock. Headed over to see it tonight. I would eventually run 31" tires on it.
I believe all 93's came stock with LT77's and 1.4 lt230's. a 1.4 LT230 with a 4.6 and 31s is going to rev high thats why the 1.2 is a better fit.

However my knowldge on Defenders is slim. If you post up the serial number I can tell you if it's a 1.4 or 1.2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 12th, 2012, 08:00 PM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake1996d1 View Post
I believe all 93's came stock with LT77's and 1.4 lt230's. a 1.4 LT230 with a 4.6 and 31s is going to rev high thats why the 1.2 is a better fit.

yep!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 13th, 2012, 11:10 PM
newfD90's Avatar
newfD90
Status: Offline
Chance
93 NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 1,359
I'm running 33's with a 4.6 and a 1.4 Tcase in my 110. It's a fine for climbing the many mountain passes around here, but not so good for cruising on the freeway. Thus I'm always thinking about a 1.2...
__________________
Chance

"Fossil Fuel Rapid Disposal Unit"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 16th, 2012, 11:04 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfD90 View Post
I'm running 33's with a 4.6 and a 1.4 Tcase in my 110. It's a fine for climbing the many mountain passes around here, but not so good for cruising on the freeway. Thus I'm always thinking about a 1.2...
IF you decide that... maybe we can swap T-cases? My disco 1.2 for your 1.4. I could use a little more ooomph
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old September 17th, 2012, 12:33 PM
newfD90's Avatar
newfD90
Status: Offline
Chance
93 NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 1,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillstrubl View Post
IF you decide that... maybe we can swap T-cases? My disco 1.2 for your 1.4. I could use a little more ooomph
I'll be sure to let you know. The main thing holding me back is the $1200 I invested in having Dassler rebuild it... :/
__________________
Chance

"Fossil Fuel Rapid Disposal Unit"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 17th, 2012, 03:18 PM
Jake1996d1's Avatar
Jake1996d1
Status: Offline
Jake
96 Disco/88 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ankeny IA
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillstrubl View Post
IF you decide that... maybe we can swap T-cases? My disco 1.2 for your 1.4. I could use a little more ooomph
I have a set of 1.4 gears I am about to post in the classifieds.. Was going to put them in my disco case but came across another complete 1.4
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old September 17th, 2012, 04:28 PM
1of40's Avatar
1of40
Status: Offline
1of40
NAS 97SW & 83 One Ten Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Potomac Falls & Wintergreen, Virginia
Posts: 6,084
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfD90 View Post
I'll be sure to let you know. The main thing holding me back is the $1200 I invested in having Dassler rebuild it... :/
I have a new set of 1.22 gears from Ashcroft. I was planning to use thime in a ROW 300tdi 110 but it never materialized.

http://www.ashcroft-transmissions.co...d&productId=44

$400 shipped

Clay

p.s. I can open the package and take pics if you want them.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old September 18th, 2012, 07:27 PM
newfD90's Avatar
newfD90
Status: Offline
Chance
93 NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 1,359
Thanks for the offer, but a recent acquisition (1960 SII) is having my $$$ redirected to it. I figure I'll live with it a while longer.
__________________
Chance

"Fossil Fuel Rapid Disposal Unit"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
110, nas, nas 110

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAS 110 Transfer Case $450 bitz The Flea Market 0 February 16th, 2011 12:27 PM
93' nas 110 motor cuts out MRROVER Defender Technical Discussions 0 May 10th, 2010 04:10 PM
NAS 110 ownership and shake down through Yosemite... IPSC_GUY Misc. Chit-Chat 20 April 1st, 2010 04:57 AM
WANTED cup holder for my 93' NAS 110 MRROVER Wanted 0 March 24th, 2010 09:30 PM
93' nas 110 oil service info please? MRROVER Defender Technical Discussions 5 February 21st, 2010 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Copyright