90's Defender 90 or 03' Discovery SE - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old March 24th, 2009, 12:41 PM
Jeff
Jeff Farris
None

90's Defender 90 or 03' Discovery SE

Ok, I found this site hoping that you guys could help me make up my mind. I specifically want a vehicle to take to the mountains and desert for extended periods. I'm completely new to the Land Rover in general, but have had Jeeps in the past. My question is, for the money which would you guys/girls prefer? Now I know the D90's are somewhat rare, and valuable too by the price they are going for around here in California. But, I found a 2003 Discovery Special Edition that is pretty well equipped for a decent price. Should I hold off and save some more money to buy a D90, or buy this one? Is there a performance advantage to a D90 or is it just the newer Land Rovers have more creature comforts.... Thanks for any advice.

Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 24th, 2009, 12:43 PM
evilfij
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person

D90. Much cheaper to keep on the road that a Disco II.
Old March 24th, 2009, 12:49 PM
Jeff
Jeff Farris
None

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilfij
D90. Much cheaper to keep on the road that a Disco II.
Could you elaborate any, as I know nothing about these vehicles. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 24th, 2009, 01:05 PM
AmityD90
Gery
1987 ROW D90

Registry
My suggestion would be to go and find a D90 to test drive. It will answer a lot of your questions.
I would say that a Disco II and a D90 are two different beasts.

Defenders are simpler, less electronically oriented as compared to discos. Probably easier to maintain if you are a DIY guy.

You can hose out a Defender after a long, dusty/muddy trip but you will probably be wanting a long rest afterwards (and a beer).