4.0 Engine issues? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old September 22nd, 2016, 06:48 AM
terryjm1
Terry
1988 Land Rover Santana & 98 D1 TDI

4.0 Engine issues?

I am considering buying a D1 with a 4.0 that has 80,000 miles on the engine. They seem to have been well cared for maintained miles. Sorry, I know this is a Defender discussion section but I know many of you drive Defenders with 4.0 engines and many of you also have or have had a D1.

I have some experience with the 4.0 engine and it seems head gaskets are a common problem. It seems most of the higher mileage ones get the head gaskets done at about 100,000 miles. My question is this simply when they fail or is it caused mostly by issues like overheating?

Is it good preventive maintenance to R&r them at 100,000 to avoid damaging the rest of the engine when the coolant gets in the crankcase or perhaps could damage the catalytic converters and O2 sensors?

I am planning to drive it on a 2500 mile road trip with about 400 through high elevation mountain passes pulling a trailer. Is this too ambitious for an 80K truck. I will need to make this trip 10 to 15 times over the next few years. Am I asking to be stranded with an engine that has lost a head gasket?

Kind regards,

Terry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old September 22nd, 2016, 07:02 AM
Capt Milks
Mike
Defender V-8, Defender 2.25

Over heating is the killer. If the engine over heats you run the chance of slipping a liner and toasting the engine. Make sure the cooling system is up to the task. Do not rely on the gauge.
Old September 22nd, 2016, 08:44 AM
Ray_G
Ray Gerber
96 D1 (Coyote), 06 D3

Registry