300tdi to 2.5td questions - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old November 13th, 2015, 08:59 AM
jay22
Joey
None

300tdi to 2.5td questions

Hello everyone. First off I am stationed in Germany. Looking at buying my first defender 110 so all help is appreciated. I found a beautiful 110 which is exactly what I want. The only issue is that the engine is not original. It has a 300tdi and originally came with a 19j 2.5td. So onto the questions:

1. Would it be worth it to buy said defender and swap the engine myself?
2. I have researched and found the 300 tdi swaps to be quite expensive. Do I have a chance of posting a "for trade" ad(my 300tdi for your 19j 2.5td) and getting attention?

If I'm an idiot and need to move on just tell me. I am new to this so all comments and help is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old November 13th, 2015, 09:02 AM
Red90
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team

Registry
Probably not worth it. It depends on how they did the conversion. 2.5TD to 300TDI is not a bolt in conversion. It requires custom modifications and everyone does them differently. Most likely the engine mounts were cut off and new ones welded on and you would thus need to do that again.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Old November 13th, 2015, 10:50 AM
rdavisinva
Robert Davis
N/A

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay22 View Post
Hello everyone. First off I am stationed in Germany. Looking at buying my first defender 110 so all help is appreciated. I found a beautiful 110 which is exactly what I want. The only issue is that the engine is not original. It has a 300tdi and originally came with a 19j 2.5td. So onto the questions:

1. Would it be worth it to buy said defender and swap the engine myself?