300tdi smoke at neutral throttle - Page 3 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old October 5th, 2009, 08:18 PM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
x2
it is full of diesel. so get ready.

BTW there is a heater for the stanadyne head.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #42  
Old October 5th, 2009, 09:33 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Thanks for the heads up.

What are the benefits for the optional Stanadyne fuel filter heater? It warms the fuel to prevent clogging. Any other benefits? Just trying to figure out if is worth the hassle of installing.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old October 5th, 2009, 10:21 PM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
If you live where it is cold and run a bio blend you should at least heat the filter.
if you are thinking about running b100 you will need to heat the whole fuel system if it is cold where you are.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #44  
Old October 6th, 2009, 12:14 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Heater it is.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old October 6th, 2009, 12:28 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,225
Registry
I have had an FM-100 with 2 micron filter for the last year. Bolts straight onto the stock location. A few compression fittings and it is hooked up. There is lots of height to put in the 6" filter. I have run the 4.3" one and did not have any problems.

If you are going to get a heater, use the top load style, http://www.thedieselstore.com/templa...A31341&VehNum=
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old October 6th, 2009, 03:38 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I was just wondering which heater to get. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90
I have had an FM-100 with 2 micron filter for the last year. Bolts straight onto the stock location. A few compression fittings and it is hooked up. There is lots of height to put in the 6" filter. I have run the 4.3" one and did not have any problems.

If you are going to get a heater, use the top load style, http://www.thedieselstore.com/templa...A31341&VehNum=
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old October 6th, 2009, 05:26 PM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
BTW- I just put in a 6in filter and it barley fits...but fits in the stock 300tdi location.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old October 10th, 2009, 10:53 AM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Placing my order today.

Follow-up question: when cleaning the sediment filter or swapping out the fuel filter, how do I prime the fuel pump to make sure there's no air in the system?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old October 10th, 2009, 02:18 PM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
Most likely you will not have to prime. but if you do it is not hard. I think you need a manual... check your PM
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old October 12th, 2009, 12:20 AM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I disassembled and cleaned the sediment filter today. Good call to open it completely. There was sediment on the bottom that never would have come out by otherwise. No need to prime either. It started right up.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old October 17th, 2009, 02:17 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
John,

Did you install the top loading heater? I got my parts yesterday but due to poor instructions and a newbie installer I can't figure out what is needed to install the fuel filter heater. Does it need a manual switch or a thermostat? Is it on all the time? Is it hooked up to the ignition?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90
I have had an FM-100 with 2 micron filter for the last year. Bolts straight onto the stock location. A few compression fittings and it is hooked up. There is lots of height to put in the 6" filter. I have run the 4.3" one and did not have any problems.

If you are going to get a heater, use the top load style, http://www.thedieselstore.com/templa...A31341&VehNum=
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old October 20th, 2009, 09:13 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I talked to the thedieselstore.com and resolved the lack of info in the documentation of the fuel heater. It has a thermostat. Below 40 degrees it kicks in so there is no need for a switch.

Hey Steve, do you mind posting a pic of your installed Stanadyne Fuel filter? I'm still not sure what type of fittings I need to get. Also, there are 4 ports on the filter. Shouldn't there only be two? What are the extra two for?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old October 21st, 2009, 12:43 AM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
Will do.
The two extra holes need to be plugged with a brass plug of what ever size pitch and hole you ordered.

The mounting and fittings are a piece of cake, I got all the fittings at lowes. I will get some pictures by the weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old October 21st, 2009, 06:22 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Thanks Steve!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old October 26th, 2009, 10:44 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I adjusted the smoke screw and diaphragm on the injection pump today. 360 degree reduction on the smoke screw and 90 degrees on the diaphragm. I have significantly less smoke now with virtually no reduction in performance. It's about half the smoke at start up now and no smoke when taking off or during boost. I will leave the diaphragm where it is but I might try another 180 degrees reduction on the smoke screw. My suspicions that the previous owner had overdone it on the injection pump adjustments may have been confirmed.

We have a really good diesel lab in town that will test injectors for free. I am considering pulling them out just to have a look at them. It would be nice to know if they are ok or not. Is this advisable? Will I mess with tolerances if I take them out and put them back in?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old October 26th, 2009, 11:03 PM
D90user's Avatar
D90user
Status: Offline
steve
109/110 ambulance-55 series I
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 1,447
Good on ya.
Pulling the injectors and putting back in is not a problem.

When re installing use a screwdriver as a guide to get them reseated, ie slide them on the screwdriver. put the screwdriver in the whole the injectors go in then let the washer slide down the screwdriver.

When you put the injectors back in dont over tighten the clamp plate... dont ask me how I know.

Sorry no pics yet...no time
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old October 26th, 2009, 11:21 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Great! I will take them to the lab.

Don't worry about pictures. I got the same filter assembly you have (3/8"). How come you didn't reuse the existing (stock) fittings? They will fit won't they? I have attached a pic of my existing filter fittings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D90user
Good on ya.
Pulling the injectors and putting back in is not a problem.

When re installing use a screwdriver as a guide to get them reseated, ie slide them on the screwdriver. put the screwdriver in the whole the injectors go in then let the washer slide down the screwdriver.

When you put the injectors back in dont over tighten the clamp plate... dont ask me how I know.

Sorry no pics yet...no time
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1164.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	22467  
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old December 4th, 2009, 11:54 AM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I finally got around to installing my Stanadyne fuel filter head. I have attached a couple of crummy iphone snapshots if anyone is thinking about doing the same thing. The 6" filter just about fits with about a 1/4" clearance from the wheel well panel. I had a hard time finding elbow fittings similar to the Bosch filter head so I went with straight ones that had to connect on the other side of the filter. The thing with the wire sticking out on top is the heater which I have yet to hook up. Although there is tight clearance on the side there may be room to fit a water drain reservoir underneath of the filter. So far no problems with the 0.2 micron filter clogging and it is 27 degrees here in Portland this morning.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1212.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	511.1 KB
ID:	23375   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1219.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	445.6 KB
ID:	23376  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1220.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	532.0 KB
ID:	23377  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
300tdi, tdi

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300 Tdi Egt Q?????? Buckon37s Defender Technical Discussions 37 July 11th, 2012 11:26 AM
anyone using hand throttle on 300Tdi? Gkase Defender Technical Discussions 10 December 3rd, 2006 10:42 AM
NAS D90 300tdi exhaust? Chris Cox Defender Technical Discussions 19 June 13th, 2006 04:59 PM
Pinging under full throttle... Doug Defender Technical Discussions 10 November 29th, 2005 11:02 AM
Mounting 3-Link Crossmember on 300tdi chassis Chris Cox Defender Technical Discussions 4 March 10th, 2004 02:12 PM

» Defender Registry

# 1275

bcoffeya

130

kellymoe
Add your Defender

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Copyright