300Tdi AC question - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old September 11th, 2006, 10:40 PM
Gkase's Avatar
Gkase
Status: Offline
George Kase
1983 110 200Tdi CSW LHD
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glenview, IL, USA
Posts: 503
300Tdi AC question

installed an NAS AC kit this past weekend on my 300Tdi engine and have one question before I have it charged and fire it up...I jumpered the two leads going to pressure and temperature sensors on the thermostat housing (which I don't have)...plus jumpered the leads going to and from the ECU (which I don't have)...is that OK?
thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old September 12th, 2006, 12:00 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Thats exactly what I did. I did jumper the leads such that the trinary switch still worked (pressure safeguard) but the engine temp condition is in a constant "OK" state.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 12th, 2006, 01:24 PM
Gkase's Avatar
Gkase
Status: Offline
George Kase
1983 110 200Tdi CSW LHD
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glenview, IL, USA
Posts: 503
Jim,
So you jumpered the yellow/black and black/white leads? So this "trinary switch" (do I have one?) still works but all other AC functions also work like they're supposed to?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old September 12th, 2006, 11:38 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
I dont remember the colors off the top of my head, I'd have to find my notes. The trinary switch is the thing on top of the drier. It has 3 modes (duh) low pressure shut off, normal on, and overpressure shutoff. The upshot of the whole thing is that my AC wont automatically shutoff if the engine overheats, but all other functions work as they are supposed too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 13th, 2006, 11:24 AM
Gkase's Avatar
Gkase
Status: Offline
George Kase
1983 110 200Tdi CSW LHD
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glenview, IL, USA
Posts: 503
Aha! I got one of them...wondered what that plug was...I'm glad to hear confirmation on this. Just jumper the ECU leads and everything else works as it should...thanks Jim.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 13th, 2006, 02:34 PM
btate
Status: Offline
Bryan Tate
d90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 479
George, thanks for the schematic for connecting my a/c to the 94.
As I don't have ECU connections I am clarifying. You are just going to tie the ECU (off the a/c wiring harness) leads together??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 13th, 2006, 02:52 PM
Gkase's Avatar
Gkase
Status: Offline
George Kase
1983 110 200Tdi CSW LHD
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glenview, IL, USA
Posts: 503
Yes...that's exactly what I did...those two leads have a jumper placed between them. And as Jim pointed out, all will work except you'll have to watch your engine temp gauge and shut off the AC if it climbs too high...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 13th, 2006, 02:58 PM
btate
Status: Offline
Bryan Tate
d90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 479
What about idle? I am walking a different path as I have ECU, you don't; But, I thought those two leads tell the ECU when to idle up to handle a/c load? I had read from another post that someone said the A/C pulls idle down (on a 94 d90) without these connections.

Do you think these were the original functions of the wires? This post makes it seem like it was more of a safety cutoff valve to prevent overheating....
Thank, curious as to how the bypass will work for me....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 13th, 2006, 03:07 PM
Gkase's Avatar
Gkase
Status: Offline
George Kase
1983 110 200Tdi CSW LHD
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glenview, IL, USA
Posts: 503
perhaps someone else could take this question...I don't have a clue...sorry...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
300tdi, ac, tdi

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAS AC wiring question or call it a random wire question bjf Defender Technical Discussions 7 May 5th, 2009 09:58 AM
D110 300Tdi Rear AC unit - NEW artm For Sale - Parts 36 December 18th, 2008 09:09 AM
question about installing 300Tdi kit from M&D? Gkase Defender Technical Discussions 12 May 24th, 2006 08:36 PM
D110 300Tdi AC Compressor? Hssser Defender Technical Discussions 3 August 17th, 2005 07:47 PM
AC question Campbell Defender Technical Discussions 4 March 8th, 2004 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Copyright