300 TDi Thermostat - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old July 10th, 2006, 07:02 AM
ronward's Avatar
ronward
Status: Offline
Redsrover
None - sadly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Posts: 387
300 TDi Thermostat

Winter thermostat in 300TDi makes it run a little on the warm side in this Georgia heat. Need to replace with a "summer" thermostat. Any of you 300 TDi guys know what temperature thermostat I need? Is there a gasket I need to replace as well? New to the 300, so looking for some step by step if possible.

Thanks

Ron
__________________
Anything is possible, with the right tools...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old July 10th, 2006, 07:58 AM
dmarchand's Avatar
dmarchand
Status: Offline
David Marchand
'97 D90 SW Arles
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 2,862
Registry
Never heard of two different thermostats. Do you have part numbers?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 10th, 2006, 08:46 AM
JackW's Avatar
JackW
Status: Offline
Jack Walter
1966 109 SW Diesel
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Roswell, GA, USA
Posts: 929
Ron? 300 Tdi? whassup?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old July 10th, 2006, 08:47 AM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
Never heard also of two thermostats. I run my 300 with
factory thermostat in hot weather all year long. May
be you just need a coolant circuit and radiator flush...
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 10th, 2006, 06:21 PM
ronward's Avatar
ronward
Status: Offline
Redsrover
None - sadly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Posts: 387
Jack, you up for a coolant flush and genuine thermostat replacement at the tech day this weekend?
__________________
Anything is possible, with the right tools...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 21st, 2006, 05:12 PM
mikeslandrover's Avatar
mikeslandrover
Status: Offline
Mike Hammond
110 200Tdi and a 2005 Scorpa SY250
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oxted, Surrey, England, U.K
Posts: 1,756
Registry
They never run hot if the rad is in good condition, the problem is usually getting them up to some sort of temperature. My 110 ran in the Sahara (summer) with the same thermostat as the winter in the UK. The fan clutch kicked in two or three times.
When the core starts to fur up the temp slowly climbs and you have to stop or run slow for the temp to come back bown again. All the little cooling fins rotting and falling off the rad is another issue to look out for.
__________________
Mike Hammond
Diesels.....great when they're going and so easy to work on.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 21st, 2006, 07:51 PM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Ron, do you have the stock temp gauge? IF so, change it to a VDO. I thought mine was hot till I put in a good gauge and sender... Also, make sure you run a ground wire from your trans to the frame... I had this problem which caused a faulty temp reading...
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 22nd, 2006, 08:38 AM
ronward's Avatar
ronward
Status: Offline
Redsrover
None - sadly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Posts: 387
Thanks. Pretty sure it's running fine, except the electric cooling fan isn't kicking in. That's my problem right there. Planning to sort that out tomorrow once the spring swap is completed today. Any particular place for the suggested ground wire from transmission to frame?
__________________
Anything is possible, with the right tools...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 22nd, 2006, 09:00 AM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
when I had the stock gauge in and the ground not set up right, I stressed all the way to MAR. Since it was raining I guess the grounding of the truck was different and I thought I was over heating the entire ride.. Jimmy told me that in the UK he never even had a fan on his Tdi and it never overheated... I would not worry about it..
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 23rd, 2006, 09:01 AM
ronward's Avatar
ronward
Status: Offline
Redsrover
None - sadly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Posts: 387
Well what's got me stressed is this 300 Tdi is fitted with air con and the big cooling rad and electric fan from the air con is in front of the engine coolant rad. Going down the road with the electric cooling fan not working is making it hard to cool the engine coolant rad off. The thermostat I installed has zero effect on any of this, and the engine, water pump, fan, hoses etc are all relatively new (+/- 10k miles). Just hate rolling around at high temps.

-Ron
__________________
Anything is possible, with the right tools...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 23rd, 2006, 04:08 PM
mikeslandrover's Avatar
mikeslandrover
Status: Offline
Mike Hammond
110 200Tdi and a 2005 Scorpa SY250
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oxted, Surrey, England, U.K
Posts: 1,756
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronward
Just hate rolling around at high temps.

-Ron
Tdi's don't really like running hot
__________________
Mike Hammond
Diesels.....great when they're going and so easy to work on.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 23rd, 2006, 11:03 PM
ronward's Avatar
ronward
Status: Offline
Redsrover
None - sadly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Posts: 387
Well we flushed the coolant, looked perfectly fine to me. The cooling system is new as of 2002 when the engine was installed. Runs fine, not overheating, but the guage reads high.
__________________
Anything is possible, with the right tools...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old July 24th, 2006, 02:10 PM
mikeslandrover's Avatar
mikeslandrover
Status: Offline
Mike Hammond
110 200Tdi and a 2005 Scorpa SY250
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oxted, Surrey, England, U.K
Posts: 1,756
Registry
Is it actually overheating then?
My temp gauge on the 110 reads lower than the 90's gauge.the 110 reads around 1/3 from base and the 90 reads a little over 1/2, neither change much at all up hill or down.
After a good run both top pipes are too hot to hold and the return pipes to the engine from the bottom of the rad are cool to the touch.
You could try running with the thermostat removed for a while and compare the in/return pipe temperatures.
Its temperatures that steadily climb and climb that are a cause for concern.
It might just be mismatched sensors and gauges, both my trucks are 1984/5 vinage with retro fitted 200 Tdi's and neither gauge reads the same
__________________
Mike Hammond
Diesels.....great when they're going and so easy to work on.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old July 24th, 2006, 09:29 PM
ronward's Avatar
ronward
Status: Offline
Redsrover
None - sadly
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Posts: 387
It's not actually overheating. I think the gauge is mismatched to the sender.
__________________
Anything is possible, with the right tools...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 25th, 2006, 02:28 PM
mikeslandrover's Avatar
mikeslandrover
Status: Offline
Mike Hammond
110 200Tdi and a 2005 Scorpa SY250
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oxted, Surrey, England, U.K
Posts: 1,756
Registry
Now that it's established that it's not overheating ....to return to the orrigional question you could go for an 82 thermostst in the summer and an 88 one for the winter, I just opened boxes and compared thermostats at the local Halfords until I found one that was the same size

Once you've established what's normal for your sender & gauge set-up it's a deviation from the norm that you need to watch out for
__________________
Mike Hammond
Diesels.....great when they're going and so easy to work on.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 11th, 2011, 12:32 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Newbie questions. I am replacing my 300tdi thermostat this weekend. Is there anything not mentioned in the 300tdi workshop manual that I should be aware of when I do this? Are there any seals or gasket that should be replaced when I do this? When draining the coolant, can I reuse it after I am done or do I need to fill it with new coolant? If so what coolant should I use?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 11th, 2011, 12:41 PM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=10681

Read this.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 11th, 2011, 12:43 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Thanks Thomas!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old March 11th, 2011, 12:55 PM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
white 90 on the lr4x4.com site has done a shit load of write ups. I usually jump on the google uk page then search "300 tdi thermostat change lr4x4"

here are a few of his write ups:
http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showforum=15
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old March 13th, 2011, 09:10 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I replaced the thermostat and it was a no brainer with the exception of the coolant drain. I can't access my lower radiator bottom hose (to drain) because there is all sorts of of things in the way (skid place, etc). Is there another way to drain coolant without making a mess? I used the return supply line to the expansion tank... unfortunately it was messy.

One other question. There are supposed to be two electrical connectors to the water temperature switch connected to the bottom of the elbow housing. I do not have these and they are nowhere to be found. Just two empty sockets. What am I missing? Is this where the coolant temp gauge is supposed to connect?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
300 tdi, tdi, thermostat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300 Tdi A/C question... roverboy Defender Technical Discussions 3 September 17th, 2005 02:15 PM
1995 SW 300 Tdi neo812 For Sale - Vehicles 6 July 31st, 2005 04:55 PM
1995 Land Rover NAS Defender 90 ST (300 Tdi) MDS For Sale - Vehicles 7 March 4th, 2005 08:55 PM
MTL prices in Mass, 300 Tdi oil artm Defender Technical Discussions 4 September 10th, 2004 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Copyright