14CUX Diagnostic Tool? - Page 3 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old September 1st, 2013, 11:45 AM
PaulMc's Avatar
PaulMc
Status: Offline
Paul McConnell
1989 110 2.5 Turbo-Diesel
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 90
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
As I suspected Colin doesn't want any donations and would prefer we sell them at cost. I contacted the place in China I got the cable from and buying direct and in bulk I can get them for $7 each so I ordered 20. Now we need to find connectors. If we can find the pins I can try 3D printing them otherwise I think our best bet is to ask people who break discos and RRCs to donate them.

I have a box full of padded envelopes that the cable fits in just fine and will see what shipping comes to for Tom, but suspect we can put these cables together shipped for $12 or so if you factor in the resistor and heat shrink tubing.

The connector you need is a Lucas-Rists 5-way TTS socket housing (female terminals) -







The colour of the connector housing isn't important, as there are no differently keyed types, any colour will mate with any other colour.

This series of connectors is no longer made, and any remaining stocks are disappearing fast.

I'm always being asked for the 5-way female connector; but, unfortunately, I don't have any of that particular one, and can't find anyone who does.

The terminals (both male and female), as well as the terminal retaining bars, are also getting quite scarce.

So, the suggestion to scavenge the complete connector from scrapped Range Rover classics, is a good one.

Paul.
__________________
Paul.
1989 Arles Blue 2.5TD 110 Hardtop

1999 Epsom Green Discovery II 4.0 V8i 'XS'

.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #42  
Old September 1st, 2013, 01:29 PM
maleger
Status: Offline
Marc-Andre Leger
94D90 CDN#18 http://rover.leger.ca
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 395
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by leastonce View Post
Not sure that would have the support for the special USB cable but we can give it a try.
Virtual box is free, runs on a MAC and does have USB support. You need a Windows ISO install file to create a version of Windows that you can use.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old September 1st, 2013, 05:02 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
You can just hang the old connector off to the side. Or the new connector for that matter. As long as a connection is made for closed loop operation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jymmiejamz View Post
That's a good idea, until you need to hook T4 to it. I guess it is only a couple of wires to hook the old connector back up.
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #44  
Old September 1st, 2013, 05:03 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
And a fair amount of work. I think keeping the existing connector is best (for me).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old September 1st, 2013, 05:05 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Paul, I missed this post. I still want to get used ones from RRCs, but these look like they might be the ticket (if still available)

http://www.autosparks.co.uk/product_...oducts_id=5588

I will order one sometime and see

charles

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulMc View Post
This series of connectors is no longer made, and any remaining stocks are disappearing fast.

I'm always being asked for the 5-way female connector; but, unfortunately, I don't have any of that particular one, and can't find anyone who does.

The terminals (both male and female), as well as the terminal retaining bars, are also getting quite scarce.

So, the suggestion to scavenge the complete connector from scrapped Range Rover classics, is a good one.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old September 1st, 2013, 05:49 PM
PaulMc's Avatar
PaulMc
Status: Offline
Paul McConnell
1989 110 2.5 Turbo-Diesel
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 90
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
Paul, I missed this post. I still want to get used ones from RRCs, but these look like they might be the ticket (if still available)

http://www.autosparks.co.uk/product_...oducts_id=5588

I will order one sometime and see

charles

Charles,

Unfortunately, that's not the one.

The one you've linked to is a Lucas-Rists connector, but it's what is know as the 'church window' series (from its arched shape).

If you look closely, you can see that it has 2 x rows of 2 cavities, with the 5th cavity in the middle at the end.

The TTS (Total Terminal Security) connector has 2 rows, one with 2 cavities, the other with 3 cavities.


Autosparks used to list TTS connectors, the 5-way connectors (male & female pair) were available under their stock number - C875


TTS connectors were also available as Austin-Rover spares, listed for the 1990's Mini -

5-way (female) socket housing - AFU1459

Female terminal, for 0.5mm - 1.0mm˛ cable - ADU7061

Female terminal, for 1.5mm - 2.0mm˛ cable - ADU7537

Female terminal, for 2.5mm - 3.0mm˛ cable - ADU9563

Anti backout device for 5-way connector - AFU1471


These are no longer available from X-Part, who now manage spares for Rover cars; but, there may still be stocks at Rover Mini specialists.


Paul.
__________________
Paul.
1989 Arles Blue 2.5TD 110 Hardtop

1999 Epsom Green Discovery II 4.0 V8i 'XS'

.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old September 2nd, 2013, 12:06 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Good catch Paul.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old September 6th, 2013, 11:08 AM
tomdavey_III's Avatar
tomdavey_III
Status: Offline
Thomas Davey
1994/Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
As I suspected Colin doesn't want any donations and would prefer we sell them at cost. I contacted the place in China I got the cable from and buying direct and in bulk I can get them for $7 each so I ordered 20. Now we need to find connectors. If we can find the pins I can try 3D printing them otherwise I think our best bet is to ask people who break discos and RRCs to donate them.

I have a box full of padded envelopes that the cable fits in just fine and will see what shipping comes to for Tom, but suspect we can put these cables together shipped for $12 or so if you factor in the resistor and heat shrink tubing.
I received your cable last night and downloaded RoverGauge to my PC to see how it all would work out. The cable looks great, thank you Charles! I couldn't get my PC to communicate with the ECU, not sure if I have to set up a drive for the USB/COM port. Any ideas? Thank you again everyone for all your support.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old September 6th, 2013, 11:10 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
You have to choose the right port from within RoverGauge before connecting

Options -> Edit Settings
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old September 6th, 2013, 11:24 AM
tomdavey_III's Avatar
tomdavey_III
Status: Offline
Thomas Davey
1994/Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
You have to choose the right port from within RoverGauge before connecting

Options -> Edit Settings
yeah, I had a choice between COM1 & COM3. I tried them both and kept getting a red light for communication.

------ Follow up post added September 6th, 2013 10:26 AM ------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomdavey_III View Post
yeah, I had a choice between COM1 & COM3. I tried them both and kept getting a red light for communication.
The laptop I was using is an older one that I don't trust. I'll try again tonight with a different one to see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old September 6th, 2013, 11:30 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Just to be sure, go into the device manager and make sure the com port shows up and goes away when you plug it in. That way you know which port it is as well as making sure it has the right drivers. I didn't have to load any but I have used other cables before and probably have loaded FTDI drivers before.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old September 6th, 2013, 12:02 PM
tomdavey_III's Avatar
tomdavey_III
Status: Offline
Thomas Davey
1994/Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
Just to be sure, go into the device manager and make sure the com port shows up and goes away when you plug it in. That way you know which port it is as well as making sure it has the right drivers. I didn't have to load any but I have used other cables before and probably have loaded FTDI drivers before.
That would make sense why my laptop kept trying to to update the driver unsuccessfully. I'm pretty sure the issue is with that particular laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old September 7th, 2013, 04:00 PM
tomdavey_III's Avatar
tomdavey_III
Status: Offline
Thomas Davey
1994/Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
Just to be sure, go into the device manager and make sure the com port shows up and goes away when you plug it in. That way you know which port it is as well as making sure it has the right drivers. I didn't have to load any but I have used other cables before and probably have loaded FTDI drivers before.
What does it mean when the red and green communications light are fluctuating between one another?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old September 7th, 2013, 06:52 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Doesn't sound good. I tested the cable here so I think it's safe to rule that out for now. So you are sure the drivers you have are ok? I guess you could download the FTDI programming utility and make sure it see it ok.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old September 10th, 2013, 07:47 AM
tomdavey_III's Avatar
tomdavey_III
Status: Offline
Thomas Davey
1994/Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
Doesn't sound good. I tested the cable here so I think it's safe to rule that out for now. So you are sure the drivers you have are ok? I guess you could download the FTDI programming utility and make sure it see it ok.
I used a different laptop last night and it setup the driver for the FTDI cable and everything says it is working properly (I have faith the cable is fine). I got the same results when I tried plugging it into my D90 to run RoverGauge where the communications light flucuates between red and green. Any thoughts? Possible bad ECU?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old September 10th, 2013, 08:16 AM
tomdavey_III's Avatar
tomdavey_III
Status: Offline
Thomas Davey
1994/Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Posts: 30
The FTDI utility tells me that the RXD line is inverted and I am unable to type characters in PuTTY (loopback test) as expected when the Invert RXD box is checked.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old September 10th, 2013, 11:01 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Ok sounds like it's not a driver issue then. Odd. I wouldn't suspect the ECU though to be honest, and would suspect the cable before that....

Maybe Colin will chime in on the libcomm14cux wiki.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old September 10th, 2013, 08:06 PM
colinb
Status: Offline
Colin
'94 D90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomdavey_III View Post
The FTDI utility tells me that the RXD line is inverted and I am unable to type characters in PuTTY (loopback test) as expected when the Invert RXD box is checked.
Just saw your comment on the libcomm14cux wiki page, although it looks like Charles has already covered the points that I'd suggest you check. I suppose one of the Tx/Rx lines could be broken somewhere inside the 14CUX harness on your truck -- you could ring it out with a meter to be sure. Alternatively, is there someone nearby with a 14CUX vehicle that you could try it on?

Edit: never mind that last suggestion -- I just saw that Charles tested it before he sent it out.

--Colin
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old September 10th, 2013, 08:29 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
It's possible the cable is no longer working of course. But it would be good if you could try it on another 14cux truck and if that doesn't work, either investigate or send it back to me. Any disco 1 should be a prime candidate.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old September 10th, 2013, 10:25 PM
Jymmiejamz's Avatar
Jymmiejamz
Status: Offline
Jimmy
1995 D90 SW #365
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,468
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgalpin View Post
It's possible the cable is no longer working of course. But it would be good if you could try it on another 14cux truck and if that doesn't work, either investigate or send it back to me. Any '94/'95 disco 1 should be a prime candidate.
Fixed it for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Series Rover Diagnostic Tool slorocco Series Technical Discussions 2 December 5th, 2012 09:59 AM
Autologic Diagnostic Tool For Sale Giffstone For Sale - Parts 2 February 9th, 2008 02:43 PM
ECM diagnostic output/interface on '94 jaherring Defender Technical Discussions 0 April 12th, 2005 09:48 PM
What's In Your Tool Kit? javelinadave Misc. Chit-Chat 18 May 6th, 2004 08:26 PM
Defender 110 and 90 tool kit mpodgorski For Sale - Parts 5 May 4th, 2004 09:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Copyright