110 Won't Start - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Join the Defender Source Community Today

Old October 13th, 2016, 10:25 AM
bandmmgee
Mitch McGee
1986 One Ten

110 Won't Start

I have an '86 110 (300tdi) that I'm having trouble getting to start. Used to start up fine first try. Let it sit a couple of weeks and was really slow to turn over first time - then only start half the time (after slow start), now just won't turn over at all.

Some notes:
1. It started after I noticed a rear blinker/brake issue only when braking. Also only an issue some of the time. Do I have a short?

2. Would only start in neutral or after shifting gears. Neutral safety switch issue?

3. I put the battery on a charger and it seems fine and still having the same issue. Starter?

I have searched threads, but each situation is a little different and I am not technical enough to know where to start. Any advice on what you would try first would be very appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 13th, 2016, 10:45 AM
rdavisinva
Robert Davis
N/A

1. Only someone laying hands can determine if you have a short, but more than likely this is a lighting ground issue, not a short.

2. This vehicle does not have a neutral safety switch.

3. If the battery is good, the issue could be the main ground cable or the starter itself.
If it's the starter, we have both 2.2KW and 3.1 KW models available.
The 3.1 KW is a little more costly, bit will spin the engine much faster than the original 2.2 KW unit.

Uncle "Richard" Douglas has a Land Rover with big wheels that never gets stuck... until he breaks something so it won't go. Uncle Douglas always breaks something. - Anna Crowther at the Conclave 2012 (AKA Carburetor Neck)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 13th, 2016, 10:45 AM
AdamSanta85
Adam
1991 D90 SW

Registry