New guy with a big project - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Series Technical Discussions

Old March 14th, 2011, 03:56 PM
paydan
Norberto
1979 RHD Series III

New guy with a big project

Hello everybody. My name is Norberto and I am new to the forum. I have been looking through posts on here for a couple of weeks now and thought it was time that I posted one of my own. A little about me... I am a new Idaho resident and currently own a hybrid 1979 RHD Series III 88" with 89' RRC coil suspension. I previously owned a stock 71' Series III but the good Lord thought to take her away from me in one of the many, many hurricanes that I had to endure while living in Florida. I now reside in Idaho and thought it to be a good time to get my old girl back. When I bought my 79' rover it looked really good from the pictures but the more and more I tore into it I found more and more problems. Because of so I decided to tear her all down to the chassis and just rebuild it so I know that everything is done right.

This is what I started with while she was in Florida. From first looks it is in really good condition.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Landy 025.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	150.3 KB
ID:	36856

Name:	Landy 024.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	142.2 KB
ID:	36857

Name:	Landy 023.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	146.2 KB
ID:	36858

Name:	Landy 021.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	145.8 KB
ID:	36859

Name:	Landy 020.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	36860

Name:	Landy 019.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	139.9 KB
ID:	36861

Name:	Landy 009.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	145.3 KB
ID:	36862

Name:	Landy 013.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	36863

After a little digging and many, many issues found later, this is what she looks like now.

Name:	DSC05433.JPG
Views:	256
Size:	151.5 KB
ID:	36864

Name:	DSC05434.JPG
Views:	227
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	36865

Name:	DSC05432.JPG
Views:	271
Size:	145.2 KB
ID:	36866

Name:	DSC05429.JPG
Views:	214
Size:	149.8 KB
ID:	36867