Need Help With Buying A 1970 Series IIA - 88" - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Series Technical Discussions

Old January 25th, 2007, 08:00 PM
Fender Seeker
Sean O'Neill
NONE YET

Need Help With Buying A 1970 Series IIA - 88"

Hey guys,

I am a newbie with the Defenders and need your expertise.

I have been talking to someone that is selling his 1970 Series IIA - 88" but don't have a clue if it is worth buying.

So far, I have some picsture he e-mailed me, which I will post tomorrow, and that it is $5,000 USD.

He purchased the vehicle as a project for him and his son but his son wasn't interested so he has been restoring it for the past few years. He seems like someone that is doing a nice job with the project. He told me that he bought every part from Land Rover in the UK. He even has the rubber seal for the roof to replace after he repaints it.

Can you guys help me figure this out? I am looking to buy a daily truck that I can use to commute back and forth to work (12 mile commute on highway) Is this even possible with such an old truck?

What are some key questions to ask? I can also go to him and take specific pictures for you guys.

I have been wanting a Defender forever and unfortunately, where I live the only other one for sale is $47,000 for a 1997 soft top. I would love it but my wallet isn't that fat.

Please help!

Thank you for your time and energy.

Sean
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 25th, 2007, 08:31 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

Post some pictures and details of the truck... Where is the truck located? In PR or in the mainland? If it is here, someone close may be able to inspect it for you...

Welcome to the site,

Scott

Old January 25th, 2007, 08:35 PM
Fender Seeker
Sean O'Neill
NONE YET

Thanks so much Scott! Unfortunately, it is here in PR. It also costs an arm and a leg to import one into the island.