Does anyone sell a SS set for a series2 88? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Series Technical Discussions

Old July 23rd, 2011, 09:07 PM
JBinAlabama
john
Series 2A ..more parts on the way

Does anyone sell a SS set for a series2 88?

Since its going to be a Beach Rover, I'm compiling the parts to galvanize but I want to use SS bolts everywhere I can....But does someone sell SS kit for the Series like is done for the Defender?
Also, what is the best washer to use in conjunction with the SS bolts and nuts to prevent galvanic corrosion?
thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old July 23rd, 2011, 09:57 PM
UnfrozenCaveman
Keith Armstrong
Various

I'm not an engineer, and I don't play one on TeeVee...

But this interest in Stainless fastners in contact with aluminum puzzles me.

The charts that I've seen discussing galvanic corrosion seem to place stainless further from alloy than zinc (a galvanized fastner).

http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/ga...ion-d_906.html

Tell me why I'm wrong....please...

Here's a table with some potential numbers.. http://www.sandvik.com/sandvik/0140/...256B490032613D
Old July 23rd, 2011, 10:16 PM
airbornrover
William Skidmore
SIII 109 SW

I want to say it was crown14 that started a build thread he was doing for a customer where he galvanized everything, I mean everything and used stainless for all the fasteners because it was going to be a beach truck. Very very sweet job.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old July 23rd, 2011, 10:24 PM
JBinAlabama
john

Interesting!
I suspect that the most important factor is the washer surface between the two!
Old July 23rd, 2011, 10:43 PM
Red90
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnfrozenCaveman View Post
I'm not an engineer, and I don't play one on TeeVee...

But this interest in Stainless fastners in contact with aluminum puzzles me.