Defender Source Forum banner

Adapter plate for series

Tags
series
4K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  1962siia88 
#1 ·
Hey all:

I'm attempting to make an adapter plate to mount a 2.8l chevy vortec/atlas to my series 2a transmission. This is my first time ever doing anything like this without a "kit" so I'm trying to learn as I go. Feel free to point out all the ways I'm blowing it if you want. I'm aware that this engine might very well break my series transmission, but I want to give it a shot. I'm trying to make something similar to a Scotty's adapter for this engine. I've milled down the chevy bellhousing and a series flywheel cover and got them to the combined thickness to have the series clutch release mechanism work properly with the chevy pressure plate and now I'm on to the issue of getting everything centered.

Here's a pic from a bit ago to show the rough basics of the adapter:

http://s305.photobucket.com/albums/nn227/crockettbrat/?action=view&current=P1010735.jpg

I've now bolted the portion of the chevy bell housing to the engine and I've bolted a series 2a 4cyl bell housing to the portion of the series flywheel cover and I've got the thing all clamped together. Using a dial indicator on a magnetic base on the flywheel I'm getting everything centered and I have a goal of being within .005" of center. When I stopped for today I was out by .017" so I'm close. A little more filing and I'll be there.

http://s305.photobucket.com/albums/nn227/crockettbrat/xnn project/?action=view&current=P1010045.jpg