VDO Speedometer Parts/Installation/Problems Merged Threads - Page 2 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old July 1st, 2004, 08:38 AM
mgrgpg
Status: Offline
Mark
1989 D110
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 334
Thanks for the help....Sent the Speedo to North Hollywood Speedometer Shop. They checked it out, and the speedo worked fine. It turned out to be that the transducer box was dirty, and the lower speedo cable was worn. We replaced the cable, cleaned and greased everything, now it works great.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #22  
Old October 20th, 2004, 02:26 PM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
They should be! Here's the link http://www.egauges.com/

DJ
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old October 21st, 2004, 01:07 PM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Does anyone have the VDO speedo part # that is needed? Also, what VDO fuel guage workes? THey make a few different ones in the Vision series?


RAndy
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #24  
Old October 21st, 2004, 02:08 PM
RyanS's Avatar
RyanS
Status: Offline
Ryan
'93 NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 426
Randy - VDO Speedo I used was PN 437-155.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old August 24th, 2005, 10:20 PM
John_Karlsson
Status: Offline
John Karlsson
1966 Series IIA 88 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hope Valley, RI USA
Posts: 323
Speedometer Conversion

I am trying to install a VDO Vision speedometer in my D90/RR hybrid with LT77 and LT230. I have the VDO speedo and the AMR1253 sender mentioned in the speedometer coversion tech article. The sender looks as if it should replace the mechanical speedo cable, though I haven't yet confirmed that.

The VDO instructions show a Hall effect sensor with three contacts. The AMR1253 has only two contacts. Any tips on wiring?
__________________
John Karlsson
Hope Valley, RI
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old August 25th, 2005, 07:18 AM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
John, yes it replaces the sender in the t-case. Also. CHeck the directions. It should show 2 types of installs. One with 3 wires and one with 2 wires
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old August 25th, 2005, 09:08 AM
John_Karlsson
Status: Offline
John Karlsson
1966 Series IIA 88 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hope Valley, RI USA
Posts: 323
Randy,

Well, actually the instructions that came with the VDO show three different wiring methods. We can immediately dismiss the one for the Electronic Control Box, as this vehicle has the 200Tdi and is very, uhhh... primitive. There is a two wire setup for the Inductive Sender and a three wire setup for the Hall Effect Sensor.

If I understand these matters correctly (hah!), the Inductive Sender would be a magnetic sensor that would detect pulses from a rotating component, e.g., a flywheel with embedded magnet. The Hall Effect Sensor shown in the VDO instructions has a rotating shaft that replaces the mechanical cable connected to the transfer case and three wires, one of which is a ground.

Are you saying that I should connect the speedo according to the Inductive Sender diagram, even though the AMR 1253 appears to be a Hall Effect Sensor?

Thanks!
__________________
John Karlsson
Hope Valley, RI
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old September 1st, 2005, 07:13 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
Yes wire it like that. be sure your speed sensor male 'prong' is the same size as the speedo gear you are using.

JP
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old January 18th, 2006, 01:31 PM
roverboy's Avatar
roverboy
Status: Offline
Thomas
Booger
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 413
Speedo Part PLEASE help...

I have purchased a VDO programmable speedometer and new cable to replace the failed unit from my truck. Per the FAQ on this site, I have found a local speedo shop here in town that can cut down the OEM cable and mate it to the new VDO electronic cable. No big deal.

The problem is this...like a jackass, when I removed the nut and small retaining clip that holds the OEM speedo cable into the transfer case, (before Thanksgiving I might add) I promptly misplaced them. Now the speedo guy is ready to go and I don't have the necessary part to hold the cable in place. He told me that he can probably fab one for me but I'd need to leave my truck there all day and I'm not wanting to pay someone for a day's work trying to fabricate a $.35 part if i can help it.

Can anyone help? Does anyone have these parts laying around your shop someplace? My tranny is the R-380 5 Speed, and it's a mecanical cable, NOT the electronic cable that plugs in to the t-case. The entire drive train is about 6 years old.

I looked at Rovers North and the only part they have that sounds close is called an oil plug retaining plate or something like that. I don't even know what this thing is called and can't remember what it looks like. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
"There is absolutely no excuse for the way I'm about to act."
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old January 18th, 2006, 03:14 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Any one of the parts places should be able to help you out. Rob D can definitely help you out.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old January 18th, 2006, 03:43 PM
roverboy's Avatar
roverboy
Status: Offline
Thomas
Booger
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 413
George at RDS is looking but I haven't heard back from him yet. Hey Rob....you have what I need? :-)
__________________
"There is absolutely no excuse for the way I'm about to act."
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old January 19th, 2006, 08:29 AM
scoloco's Avatar
scoloco
Status: Offline
Scott
'94 D90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 372
So did you do away with the transducer? Your new VDO adapter cable goes into the t-case, or into the transducer which is hooked up to the tcase via a short cable?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old January 19th, 2006, 09:57 AM
Roadsiderob's Avatar
Roadsiderob
Status: Offline
Robert Dassler
1994 D90
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 994
I checked and I have not located any used ones in the shop.
__________________
Rob Dassler
SWR Automotive
505-872-7818 (shop)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old January 19th, 2006, 11:32 AM
roverboy's Avatar
roverboy
Status: Offline
Thomas
Booger
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 413
I may have located one, I'll let you guys know. Thanks for looking, Rob.

As for the new VDO cable, it has the wrong fitting to sinc up to the OEM cable and can't plug directly into the TC. I read a the thread on this site in the FAQ's about switching to the VDO programmable speedo, and it said to go to a speedometer shop and:

1. Tell them you will bring in the new VDO sender/cable and your old cable.

2. Ask them to install a 7/8" x 18 male end onto your old cable. This new male end gets installed on the speedometer end of the cable, and this (newly shortened) cable only needs to be 3-4" long. The existing female end of your original cable is retained.

3. Using this new short cable as an adapter, screw the original female end into the little frame mounted box right where it used to go, and screw the new male end into the female end of the VDO sender/cable, and zip-tie the sender box (which is a cube about 1-1/2" on each side) to the frame so it doesn't bounce around.

4. Hook up the speedo end of the sender/cable to the VDO speedo.

5. Calibrate per directions.

6. Drive around in complete confidence that your speedometer is accurate for a change.

I haven't had a working Speedo since I've had my truck (about 6 months now) so i can't wait to get it fixed.
__________________
"There is absolutely no excuse for the way I'm about to act."
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old February 12th, 2006, 12:19 AM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
"
Electronic Speedo: 85MPH (#437 154), however these might be out of production by now so you'll have to use the 120MPH (#437 155)"

Definately want the 120mph (see avitar)
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old February 12th, 2006, 06:47 PM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilfij
"
Electronic Speedo: 85MPH (#437 154), however these might be out of production by now so you'll have to use the 120MPH (#437 155)"

Definately want the 120mph (see avitar)

Is that 90 or 120mph Ron? I guess it really depends on the shaking of the cab.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old February 12th, 2006, 07:30 PM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Whats nice aout the electronic speedo is that if you change tire sizes, you just adjust the speedo and you are accurate again.. I have the 120mph one. I have done 80+ going down hill lol
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old March 13th, 2006, 09:04 AM
scoloco's Avatar
scoloco
Status: Offline
Scott
'94 D90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilfig
"Electronic Speedo: 85MPH (#437 154), however these might be out of production by now so you'll have to use the 120MPH (#437 155)"
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Menasco
Is that 90 or 120mph Ron? I guess it really depends on the shaking of the cab.
VDO #437 155 is the 120MPH version
VDO #437 157 is the 85MPH (with kph markings sorta similar to stock) in 100mm size but I've only found one website that lists them. Getting ready to start a phone hunt coz this is what I want if I can find one.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old March 25th, 2006, 01:51 PM
Captain Spalding's Avatar
Captain Spalding
Status: Offline
Captain Spalding
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 153
Legal Ramifications of Speedo Change?

Check me on this please: Is there an odometer built into the VDO programmable speedometer? If so, is there a means of programming the total vehicle mileage into the new speedometer? If there's no odometer, aren't there potential legal and ethical issues involved in not knowing the actual mileage of the truck when it's time to sell it? Doesn't it hurt the resale value of a car when you have to check the little box that says Actual Mileage Unknown on the title/transfer papers? Just asking. . .

Follow-up Post:

Sorry. I just read elsewhere that one can toggle between an odometer and trip odometer. I wonder if the actual mileage can be programmed in, or if it starts from zero, and you have to get some sort of certification from your DMV or something.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old March 25th, 2006, 06:35 PM
DJ Menasco's Avatar
DJ Menasco
Status: Offline
DJ Menasco
#500/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oregon/South Carolina
Posts: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Spalding

Follow-up Post:

Sorry. I just read elsewhere that one can toggle between an odometer and trip odometer. I wonder if the actual mileage can be programmed in, or if it starts from zero, and you have to get some sort of certification from your DMV or something.
both are true. The miliage is zero out of the box. If you want to add the current mileage of you D90 you can do that too. I took mine to the local speedo shop and they adjusted the milage on the odometer of the VDO to represent the true milage of the vehicle. I think it was about $70?

DJ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects

Tags
installation, part, parts, problems, speedo

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VDO Gauge Parts/Installation/Problems Merged Threads TDI Guy Smaller Projects 355 October 15th, 2017 02:59 PM
Speedometer cable mod for VDO - shop? mgrgpg Defender Technical Discussions 20 December 27th, 2013 11:57 AM
Defender Returns to North America Merged Threadfest rover1 Misc. Chit-Chat 495 May 12th, 2010 11:32 AM
?????? jimmy salmon Defender Technical Discussions 8 October 13th, 2005 11:54 AM
VDO Speedometer mgrgpg Defender Technical Discussions 6 December 17th, 2003 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Copyright