VDO Gauge Parts/Installation/Problems Merged Threads - Page 17 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #321  
Old July 30th, 2016, 09:52 AM
Sand110
Status: Offline
Steve Day
1988 110 County Station Wagon
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Slough
Posts: 5
This is what I'm getting at the tank.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1201188582.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	508.4 KB
ID:	154762  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #322  
Old July 30th, 2016, 09:57 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,248
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sand110 View Post
Thanks Red90, I purchased this model from Merlin Motorsport:

https://www.merlinmotorsport.co.uk/p...type-301010002

I did the wiring myself and is correct.
That is the wrong gauge. It is a VDO range (10 to 180 Ohm) one.

You need 301-105 with a 240-33 Ohm range.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old July 30th, 2016, 05:02 PM
Sand110
Status: Offline
Steve Day
1988 110 County Station Wagon
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Slough
Posts: 5
Argh. So frustrating! Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #324  
Old July 30th, 2016, 05:27 PM
Sand110
Status: Offline
Steve Day
1988 110 County Station Wagon
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Slough
Posts: 5
I see, only available for purchase from the US. Will have to just take the hit on the shipping unless anyone knows a UK provider?
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old August 25th, 2016, 04:15 PM
RBBailey
Status: Offline
RBBailey
1965 IIa
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Damascus, Oregon
Posts: 1,580
Registry
What do you all do with the extra length of EGT signal wire? I have no room to cool it behind dash anyplace.
__________________
Project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1965 IIa SWB
1988 Saudi 110 (soon to be 300tdi)
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old August 25th, 2016, 04:21 PM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
Coil it in the engine compartment.
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old August 25th, 2016, 04:26 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,248
Registry
Umm, trim the wires to whatever length you want.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old August 25th, 2016, 04:39 PM
RBBailey
Status: Offline
RBBailey
1965 IIa
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Damascus, Oregon
Posts: 1,580
Registry
Instructions say not to clip wires.

Didn't feel like having it just coiled in the engine compartment, but I think I may have an option to put it over the wheel well, under the wing.
__________________
Project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1965 IIa SWB
1988 Saudi 110 (soon to be 300tdi)
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old August 25th, 2016, 04:44 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,248
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBBailey View Post
Instructions say not to clip wires.

Didn't feel like having it just coiled in the engine compartment, but I think I may have an option to put it over the wheel well, under the wing.
What instructions? That is silly. There is nothing special with regard to lead length on a thermocouple. The biggest no-no is differing metals, but Madman does not seem to care as he is not using proper thermocouple wire.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old August 25th, 2016, 05:14 PM
RBBailey
Status: Offline
RBBailey
1965 IIa
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Damascus, Oregon
Posts: 1,580
Registry
Right... I have no clue. Not like I'm building a nuclear device here, or anything. But someone mentioned it to me that they had to replace their wires because they cut them, then I found this: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...fTfc1IEba9f3Zw

First thing: DO NOT CUT SENDER WIRE !!

So call me baffled, but I'm just following instructions.
__________________
Project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1965 IIa SWB
1988 Saudi 110 (soon to be 300tdi)
Reply With Quote
  #331  
Old August 25th, 2016, 05:22 PM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
I used an Auber EGT probe. Here is a quote from their instruction page:

"NOTE: Do NOT cut or splice the thermocouple lead wire as it is special wire that provides correct reading to the gauge. Simply coil any excess wire out of the way."
Reply With Quote
  #332  
Old August 25th, 2016, 05:40 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,248
Registry
It does not matter to trim the wires. You want avoid junctions with other metals as it creates a second thermocouple. With the Madman you have to do it as they do not include proper K type wire in their harness.

In a normal TC installation in industry you use wires and junctions that match the metal types used in the TC. Length of the wires has no impact on accuracy.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old August 25th, 2016, 05:47 PM
RBBailey
Status: Offline
RBBailey
1965 IIa
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Damascus, Oregon
Posts: 1,580
Registry
I was trying to figure it out, and I think they must just be trying to make sure people don't mess up the wires by putting junctions in it, or by using the junction they have (with the screws) improperly. Like trying to solder it together or something. Just telling people not to cut it at all covers all the bases.
__________________
Project:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1965 IIa SWB
1988 Saudi 110 (soon to be 300tdi)
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old August 25th, 2016, 06:23 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,248
Registry
Maybe instead of solid TC lead wire they use a plated wire and cutting the ends gets away from the plated sections. Because we are measuring at a high temperature I doubt the ambient junctions impact accuracy enough to matter. Obviously Madman does not care as they use copper leads that require junctions.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old August 25th, 2016, 06:32 PM
Naplm00
Status: Offline
Matthew
1983 110 200tdi 3 door soft top
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,869
I made the same mistake when installing my vdo egt. Since it came with no instructions I just started installing and clipped the long extension wire to size.

Frankly it didn't seem to make it not work. Maybe slightly less accurate but who really knows... Gauge works fine
Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old August 25th, 2016, 06:34 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,248
Registry
Reading a bit. It is okay for the copper lead junction, but both junction must be at the same temperature and should be close to the instrument so that the cold junction compensation within the instrument is at the same temperature as the extension lead junction with the dissimilar metals.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old March 3rd, 2017, 03:48 PM
AdamSanta85's Avatar
AdamSanta85
Status: Offline
Adam
91' D90 200TDI
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Sayville, NY
Posts: 1,525
Registry
Anyone have an LED part number for the EGT and Tach gauge bulb. They aren't the bigger type E my other VDO's use. It seems to be a Type D peanut bulb. I want them in green.

600-822: Type D Wedge Based Peanut Bulb, red, 24V. 1.2W, 4 Pack , by VDO - eGauges.com

It looks like a 286 bulb I THINK but not positive?

EDIT

Called VDO they say it is a 73 style bulb. It appears this will work?

https://www.superbrightleds.com/more...Specifications
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old April 29th, 2017, 02:03 AM
cowboy
Status: Offline
steven
'84 110 & '90 127 LHD 2-carb V8's
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 718
Can anyone tell me what type of resistor and where in the string of speedo replacement wiring the resistor would go that leastonce refers to in this post?:
http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...tml#post668175
Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old April 29th, 2017, 09:27 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,248
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboy View Post
Can anyone tell me what type of resistor and where in the string of speedo replacement wiring the resistor would go that leastonce refers to in this post?:
http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...tml#post668175
See here: http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...tml#post497139

It is only for using a YBE100540 with a 14CUX and VDO speedometer.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old April 29th, 2017, 07:32 PM
cowboy
Status: Offline
steven
'84 110 & '90 127 LHD 2-carb V8's
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90 View Post
It is only for using a YBE100540 with a 14CUX and VDO speedometer.
Ok, the need for a resistor is not applicable to my rig, then. Thanks for that clarification, Red90!

But, otherwise, in theory, a model 437 158 VDO speedo* would work in my non-efi/non-ecu rig via the VDO wiring instructions for an "induction speed sensor" with either the YBE 100540 or YBE 100530 wired to the speedo & plugged into the port in the transfer case section of my LT-95 transmission?

And are we wiring directly into the YBE 100540/YBE 100530 or via a pigtail such as: Home » Shop » Connectors / Harnesses » Tyco / AMP » 3 - Way Econoseal J Series Plug Pigtail, Black ?

*https://www.vdo-instruments.com/inst...ation-12v.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects

Tags
installation, part, parts, problems

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defender Returns to North America Merged Threadfest rover1 Misc. Chit-Chat 495 May 12th, 2010 11:32 AM
VDO Speedometer Parts/Installation/Problems Merged Threads redrover Smaller Projects 86 March 7th, 2008 10:20 PM
VDO Vision Series Fuel Gauge surf110 Defender Technical Discussions 4 September 13th, 2006 04:04 PM
VDO temp gauge sflash868 Defender Technical Discussions 3 May 31st, 2006 09:36 AM
vdo water gauge install and 210 fan info Davis Defender Technical Discussions 5 February 24th, 2005 11:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Copyright