VDO Gauge Parts/Installation/Problems Merged Threads - Page 13 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #241  
Old November 30th, 2011, 07:53 PM
carlosz's Avatar
carlosz
Status: Offline
Carlos
frank stein "frankie" in action RIP
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: east coast
Posts: 920
Registry
all right guys here is my small contribution, I have just finished installing a vdo speedo in a customer's 97 d90.
the power up of the unit is described all over the forum, so is the conversion from mechanical to electronic speedo
on pre 96 "digital display odometer" trucks.
discission about the installation on 96 and 97 trucks however is very vague so I decided to make notes on my experience and here they are, if I can I will post a picture.
for starters, the factory plug at the back of the factory unit is a straight fit into the VDO unit.
the wire position do not match the location required by VDO in its instructions.
on the factory plug.
position # 1 is red with white tracer, this is lighted power (lights on/off)
position # 2 is white with green tracer, this is switched power (key on/off)
position # 3 is black this is ground
position # 4 is black with red tracer, this is the speedo PULSE signal (7 pulses per one wheel revolution)
position # 5 is black this is ground
position # 6 is empty, thus not used
position # 7 is yellow with pink tracer this is engine rpm signal to abs ecu, not used
position # 8 is empty.
on the VDO unit,
position # 8 is the speedo pulse signal input, black with red from factory position 4
position # 4 is the main power, it uses the white and green tracer from factory position 2
position # 7 is the main ground, it used any ground from factory position 6 or 3
position # 3 is the signal ground, with out this the speedo gauge will tend to act erratically. I did a "y" split for a set of grounds as factory provides 2 VDO needs 3, one for the lights.
the lights were wired in tandem and since they are fully insulated the power and ground can be reversed.
once all was installed, the VDO speedo would not register mph and I traveled a mile for it to register 1/10 of a mile.
a call to Egauges.com tech line solved the issue partially by suggesting the "calibration procedure" .
this issue was solved by using a gps to track a measured mile.
the truck was equipped with 4 brand new bf goodrich 265/75/16, the VDO unit provides a total count of pulses per mile... it turned out to be 8510 pulses per mile.
once it registered auto calibration, the speedo gauge begun to read and so did the odometer, within the gps readings.
BTW the factory speedo was replaced because it died, the odo stopped displaying.
I made short jumper wires in order to route signals as needed, and keeping the capacity of returning the truck to use the factory speedo if so desired in the future.
picture is last, showing back of unit with jumper wires ready for installation.
------ Follow up post added November 30th, 2011 09:03 PM ------

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #242  
Old December 1st, 2011, 02:23 AM
Cube II's Avatar
Cube II
Status: Offline
Michele
1997 D90
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 900
Registry
Hey,
I couldn't find the thread anymore so I didn't reply immediately,
but thanks for the explanation, in the meanwhile I did figure it out on my own


Soo I replaced the sender, it fitted ok, same thread, and a mate helped me rewiring the gauge.
It worked ok until a couple of days ago when I disconnected the gauge for refitting the light bulb,
and now it doesn't work anymore...I checked the diagram and wires should be in the right position...

Well we'll fix it again.



Next it are oil pressure and temp gauges, I bought a brass adaptor/fitting but I realized it only has two ports, so I couldn't refit the stock sender...ouff..................................... ............


There's always something...
__________________
Michele
D90 VNTdi
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+109" IIA ex-military

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sketches and doodles:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

[O]===[O]
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old February 3rd, 2013, 06:52 AM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Offline
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,548
Registry
I've searched all am

Anyone have a part number on the VDO Vision EGT gauge and sender setup?

My manifold is off and it seems like a good time to set it up. Its a 200tdi.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #244  
Old February 3rd, 2013, 10:00 AM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,579
Registry
VDO 310-153. I don't know about the 200Tdi, I used the EGR blanker plate on my 300Tdi to mount the probe.

If the 200Tdi doesn't have a similar spot, you will need to somehow drill and tap a hole in your exhaust manifold before the turbo for the probe.

http://www.egauges.com/vdo_ind.asp?T...ion&PN=310-153
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:41 PM
JSQ's Avatar
JSQ
Status: Offline
Jack Quinlan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leucadia, CA
Posts: 578
My VDO speedo still has a mind of it's effing own.

That is all.
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old February 6th, 2013, 11:54 AM
don's Avatar
don
Status: Offline
Don Bunnell
'86 110 3dr ST
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rumson, NJ
Posts: 4,187
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSQ View Post
My VDO speedo still has a mind of it's effing own.

That is all.
Same here.

I farted around with it a while ago and took the dash apart and unplugged the the sender fromt the speedo cable. Cable was spinning smoothly down the road so who knows.

Not sure what to do might try to mess with it once I catch up with all my other projects on the 90.
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old February 8th, 2013, 11:23 PM
crobinson
Status: Offline
Chris Robinson
97' D1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 193
Question on the oil pressure guage.
Why is everyone going with a electronic operated guage w/sender instead of the mechanical guage? Is it the worry of a line rupturing?
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old February 9th, 2013, 07:37 AM
Jonesy's Avatar
Jonesy
Status: Offline
Craig
87 D110 (Ruby)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA / Southport, NC
Posts: 4,335
Registry
maybe hot oil in the cab?? Blows off the gauge and all over the cab if it fails?
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old February 9th, 2013, 09:03 AM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,579
Registry
Which is what exactly happened in my series, which has a mechanical gauge.

If electronic senders are good enough for the space shuttle, it's good enough for my rover.
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old February 9th, 2013, 10:37 AM
crown14's Avatar
crown14
Status: Offline
Verticalscrote
Volkswagen Super Beetle
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 44 Nas Row, Inter Net, USA
Posts: 3,285
Registry
It can also rupture under the hood and spray hot flammable oil on everything.
__________________
Note: The maximum size of your custom image is 500 by 100 pixels or 19.5 KB (whichever is smaller).
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old March 5th, 2013, 07:32 AM
d90dang's Avatar
d90dang
Status: Offline
Matthew
1997 D-90
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northridge Ca,
Posts: 73
Looking to install a VDO boost gauge in my 300tdi would these be appropriate for the install?

http://egauges.com/vdo_ind.asp?Type=...ion&PN=150-104

http://egauges.com/vdo_indA.asp?PN=R7111

Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old March 5th, 2013, 08:42 AM
CMSgt Bo's Avatar
CMSgt Bo
Status: Offline
Bo
1985 One Ten
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Banner Elk NC
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by d90dang View Post
Looking to install a VDO boost gauge in my 300tdi would these be appropriate for the install?

http://egauges.com/vdo_ind.asp?Type=...ion&PN=150-104

http://egauges.com/vdo_indA.asp?PN=R7111

I use this one: http://egauges.com/vdo_ind.asp?Type=...on&PN=150-1212
__________________
Proud member of the YCHJCYA2PDTHFH club.

My mechanic told me, "I couldn't repair your brakes, so I made your horn louder."
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old March 5th, 2013, 09:48 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 8,696
Registry
Yes, the 0-30 psi one is the best choice. There is no point in the vacuum/boost one as there is no vacuum...

The vacuum tubing kit won't work though... You need boost tubing that can take 30 psi.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old March 9th, 2013, 11:12 AM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
I'm sure I missed it somewhere in here, I'm pretty sure I've seen it listed before, but I am about to order all new gauges and I just want to double check. Which VDO Oil Pressure Guage and Sender should I get? I am running a 4.5l JE Engineering V8, which should be the same as a stock 3.9l in terms of the oil pressure port, but I don't know what thread I need for it.

I was thinking of just ordering one of the kits from egauges (350-1041 or 350-1042), but I don't know if I should order the Metric or US Kit...I feel like a dumb-ass right now, but I just want to make sure I get the right one the first time around if possible.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old April 10th, 2013, 08:44 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,169
The sender is in and I am getting ready to wire up my EGT gauge. Where is the best place to draw power and fuse the sender/gauge? Should I do an inline fuse or hook it up to the stock fuse box? Where is the best place to get power?
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old October 25th, 2013, 10:15 PM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
Ok, I'm getting ready to order all New Vision Instruments for my NAS 110. I am trying to determine which Oil Pressure Gauge I need. The NAS 110 came with one from the factory, is there a VDO Gauge I can get that will work with the factory sender? If not, does anyone know the thread of the port on the housing for the sender so I can order the right sender and/or adapter?
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old December 17th, 2013, 06:15 AM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
Oil pressure sender

Two references of oil pressure senders are mentioned in the thread:

360-006 and 360-009

They are the same part, same specs, the difference is the mounting thread.

360-006 is metric and has a 10 mm x 1.0 mm thread.

360-009 is imperial and has a 1/8" - 27 NPT thread.

Cheers
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old December 17th, 2013, 06:54 AM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,367
Registry
Well I should have ordered the -006 then for my 200tdi. The -009 has worked so far along with a brass elbow to clear the housing.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old July 7th, 2014, 01:37 PM
Rocky's Avatar
Rocky
Status: Offline
Chris
72 + D1 drivetrain
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colonies
Posts: 8,144
How many wires come out of the VDO speed sensor? I'm trying to connect up a programmable Autometer....and struggling with the signal.
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old January 17th, 2015, 02:31 PM
BlackField's Avatar
BlackField
Status: Offline
Oscar
D110
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,513
Anyone try using the VDO GPS sender?

http://www.usa.vdo.com/generator/www..._CO1482_E.html
__________________
Lemmings as you know them are a Disney fabricated lie. The truth is out there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects

Tags
installation, part, parts, problems

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defender Returns to North America Merged Threadfest rover1 Misc. Chit-Chat 495 May 12th, 2010 10:32 AM
VDO Speedometer Parts/Installation/Problems Merged Threads redrover Smaller Projects 86 March 7th, 2008 09:20 PM
VDO Vision Series Fuel Gauge surf110 Defender Technical Discussions 4 September 13th, 2006 03:04 PM
VDO temp gauge sflash868 Defender Technical Discussions 3 May 31st, 2006 08:36 AM
vdo water gauge install and 210 fan info Davis Defender Technical Discussions 5 February 24th, 2005 10:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Copyright