Total Novice Builds a Roof Rack - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects

Old October 13th, 2017, 12:17 AM
floyd650
Alex Lapidus
1994 D90 ST #1716

Total Novice Builds a Roof Rack

I haven't been super active on the board in a few years, but thought I would document my attempt to build a roof rack. Winter is looming in the Pacific Northwest, and I've been itching for a project to carry me through the gloom. I told myself the next time I needed some welding done, that I'd bite the bullet, buy a welder, and teach myself how to weld. I'd like to do all or part of the Washington Backcountry Discovery Route (Washington Backcountry Discovery Route (WABDR)) in my 1994 D90 ST with a friend and our 9 year-old-daughters in summer of 2018. So, in theory, that gives me enough time to sort things out and make a roof rack.

The first step seems to be tooling up...

After looking at all the options and talking with a few friends who weld, I tracked down a Hobart 220 MVP MIG welder, and had a 220v circuit run to my micro-shop.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7105.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	129.8 KB
ID:	312505   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7124.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	312513  

Name:	IMG_7125.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	106.7 KB
ID:	312521  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 13th, 2017, 12:19 AM
floyd650
Alex Lapidus
1994 D90 ST #1716

Sorting through design options

Now on to design ideas. Feel free to chime in, but here are a few pictures that I have collected to help think it through.

https://www.pinterest.com/adlapidus/nice-rack/
Old October 13th, 2017, 12:30 AM
floyd650
Alex Lapidus
1994 D90 ST #1716