Tdi RPMS - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:10 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Offline
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,685
Registry
Tdi RPMS

I know there's a few Disco/RRC tdi conversions on here. I can't figure out why my RPMS are so high.

It's a 300/R380/28D 1.2 box.

Can't tell if it's incorrect alternator signal to the tach or what, but my truck screams at 75 it seems

Anyone else have this issue? According to Ashcroft the RPMs should be quite a bit lower

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:21 PM
BRAB
Status: Offline
Brandon
200TDI in a RHD 1986 D90
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Port Washington, NY, USA
Posts: 325
Just rev it excessively while standing, that should solve your problem
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:28 PM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
You sure you have a 1.2 speedo gear in the tcase? Maybe whatever the tcase was in before had a 1.4 or 1.6 gear in it. That reading would still be high for 1.4, but 1.6 I'm guessing about right.

I actually confirmed my tach reading with an iphone app that listens to the engine noise and gives you a tach reading back. they have them for droids too.
__________________
Mark Kellgren
KM4BOR

ISIL and al qaeda can go F*ck themselves...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:31 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
Pick up a laser tach. They are cheap and you can know what is going on instead of guessing and then go from there.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:36 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Offline
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,685
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overlander View Post
You sure you have a 1.2 speedo gear in the tcase? Maybe whatever the tcase was in before had a 1.4 or 1.6 gear in it. That reading would still be high for 1.4, but 1.6 I'm guessing about right.

I actually confirmed my tach reading with an iphone app that listens to the engine noise and gives you a tach reading back. they have them for droids too.
T-case came from a 300tdi setup which should have the 1.2 case, no reason to think it's off. Speedo is +/- 2% according to GPS


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90 View Post
Pick up a laser tach. They are cheap and you can know what is going on instead of guessing and then go from there.

Cheap one is fine? Digital Photo Sensor Tachometer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:37 PM
the rover shop
Status: Offline
shayne young
89,93 & 95 camel trophy 110s 06 130
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ft lauderdale florida
Posts: 5,225
Take it out of low range..

------ Follow up post added February 25th, 2015 01:38 PM ------

I know it's possibly a stupid question.. But you do have 3:54 diff gears right..??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:39 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z.G View Post
T-case came from a 300tdi setup which should have the 1.2 case, no reason to think it's off. Speedo is +/- 2% according to GPS
Have a look at the serial number of both boxes. No chance axle ratios have been changed? This is a D2? Speedo uses the ABS sensors, so does not care about any drivetrain ratios.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z.G View Post
Sure. Mine was maybe $15 and works great.
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:41 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Offline
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,685
Registry
Low range is not the issue

Yes, 3.54 stock gears in the truck

------ Follow up post added February 25th, 2015 01:42 PM ------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90 View Post
Have a look at the serial number of both boxes. No chance axle ratios have been changed? This is a D2? Speedo uses the ABS sensors, so does not care about any drivetrain ratios.
The serial number on the t-box started 28DXXXXXX, so it should be a 1.22

It's on the D1, so speedo is out of the back of the case. Speedo is mostly accurate within a couple percent.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:43 PM
mongosd2's Avatar
mongosd2
Status: Offline
Frank Rafka
01 D2 96 D1 83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 861
stupid…this is a d1 right...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:45 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Offline
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,685
Registry
I don't recall the 95 D1 having SLABS?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:48 PM
mongosd2's Avatar
mongosd2
Status: Offline
Frank Rafka
01 D2 96 D1 83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 861
yeah, thought it was a d2…stupid
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:49 PM
the rover shop
Status: Offline
shayne young
89,93 & 95 camel trophy 110s 06 130
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ft lauderdale florida
Posts: 5,225
Come on guys...d1 instruments.... D2 was digital odometer..and what's this about slabs...all I see is an anti lock and srs lights...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:49 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Offline
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,841
Registry
I have had to move dip switches on vdo tachs before to get accurate readings.
What does the tach say idle is ?
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:51 PM
sonoronos's Avatar
sonoronos
Status: Offline
Ed
None
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 5,547
Registry
I have the exact same problem with my 200tdi.

I run 3.54 gears, 1.222 (as marked) LT230, and an early LT77.

At 70-75 mph I'm already at 3500ish rpm, which seems high to me (and makes quite a din)

I'm thinking that it would be pretty obvious (especially on a tdi) to zack if his engine was indeed at 3k rpm.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:53 PM
rijosho's Avatar
rijosho
Status: Offline
Joshua
1995 Black ST - Rhinolined edition
Research Assistant/Eagle Eyes
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,557
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Douglas View Post
I have had to move dip switches on vdo tachs before to get accurate readings.
What does the tach say idle is ?
Somewhere Zack has just been pulled over for going 60 in a school zone.

Officer: Do you have any idea how fast you were going?
Zack: 24mph officer, per my speedo
__________________
Quote:
I am talking purely from an aesthetics standpoint.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:53 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Offline
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,685
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Douglas View Post
I have had to move dip switches on vdo tachs before to get accurate readings.
What does the tach say idle is ?
Idle shows around 1100 after warmed up.

------ Follow up post added February 25th, 2015 01:54 PM ------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rijosho View Post
Somewhere Zack has just been pulled over for going 60 in a school zone.

Officer: Do you have any idea how fast you were going?
Zack: 24mph officer, per my speedo
Better having it off than before Kraig sent me the wiring harness and I had NO speedo haha
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old February 25th, 2015, 01:58 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Offline
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,841
Registry
tdi and v8 used same tach if both have airbags. The non air bag tdi used STC2968. The airbag tdi and fi V8 with airbags both used STC2969.

1100 @ idle would be way high. Its more like 600-700. Sounds like you are reading 4-500 rpm high.
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old February 25th, 2015, 02:12 PM
ini88's Avatar
ini88
Status: Offline
Daniel Marcello
Alloy+Grit Creative Director
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,816
If you have a 1.2TC you need the 61mm pulley for the alternator.
1.4TC and you need the 49mm pulley. I had the same mistake

STC1796 - I can have RN bill you if you want... wait what?
__________________
1955 Series I
1975 FC101 Vampire
1994 Defender 90 #916
1967 Lancia Fulvia
1974 Alfa Romeo GTV
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old February 25th, 2015, 02:27 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by ini88 View Post
If you have a 1.2TC you need the 61mm pulley for the alternator. 1.4TC and you need the 49mm pulley. I had the same mistake STC1796 - I can have RN bill you if you want... wait what?
Huh? How can the transfer case have anything to do with the tachometer reading?
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old February 25th, 2015, 02:29 PM
NPT90's Avatar
NPT90
Status: Offline
JT
D90 óriginalé
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: DC/MD
Posts: 2,772
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90 View Post
Huh? How can the transfer case have anything to do with the tachometer reading?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects

Tags
tdi

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RPMs die, then vehicle stalls at next light. sro Defender Technical Discussions 19 November 22nd, 2012 09:23 PM
Knocking when low RPMs but Accelerator depressed near floor rijosho Defender Technical Discussions 6 August 1st, 2011 03:32 PM
Engine loses power at 2500 rpms Hazard Defender Technical Discussions 17 October 15th, 2010 04:57 PM
Engine sweet spot and highway RPMs cgalpin Defender Technical Discussions 32 December 30th, 2009 12:02 PM
misfires at low rpms sometimes jdb3760 Defender Technical Discussions 1 December 3rd, 2006 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Copyright