Installing A Cruise Control In a D90 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Smaller Projects

Old July 7th, 2015, 03:23 AM
Dogpilot
James Wallace
Defender 90 1997 NAS ST

Registry
Installing A Cruise Control In a D90

Finally got around to installing the Rostra Cruise Control in my 97 Defender 90. I had been putting this off for a few months since I really couldnít find a good spot to mount the actuator. I eventually realized it would fit under the air filter. So using the supplied mount and a piece of Stereo mounting bracket, I bent the brackets to clear and bolted the actuator under the Air Filter. There are a lot of wires that go to the Actuator and I needed to open up one of the blank holes in the bulkhead pass through and install another grommet. I picked up power and VSS signal in the instrument cluster area.

I didnít want yet another stalk on the Defenders steering column. So I opted for the surface mount unit, which is internally lit and also has power and engaged lights. It had one feature I didnít realize when I ordered it. It required two holes be drilled for the fir tree pins on the back, along with a hole for the wires. Well I didnít want to drill holes in the panel. I made a block from ABS sheet and drilled the holes and made a channel for the wires to pass along. I mounted this with cold weather double backed foam tape (really grips and is thin).

I had to eliminate the Tach signal, as for some reason, it is not compatible. So for over-rev protection, you have to use the Neutral Safety Switch, which the unit accepts as an alternate. Also you need to set high gain, 4000 pulses per mile and high sensitivity response. It works, which does relieve your leg on long trips. I got the unit and control off ebay, all for under $200. For reference it is the model 250-1223, the universal model.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old July 7th, 2015, 09:16 AM
Bill Larson
Bill Larson
97 D90 SW