Help in Germany - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Truck Build-up's & Restores

Old July 23rd, 2012, 04:32 AM
grapplerdan
Dan
1989 110 CSW 200TDi--now with 19J

Help in Germany

I just bought my first defender 110! I am an American soldier stationed at Baumholder in Germany and thought now was the time to get my defender. I bought it from a used dealer in the UK, flew up to Manchester and drove it back to Germany. All is well and it is everything I had hoped it would be (110 CSW, 200Tdi, 1989 so I can take it to US with me in 2014, etc).

Now that it is here in Germany, I am having a hard time getting parts to refurbish it. I will be repairing the doors, want to change to R380, replace the rotors/brakes, little odds and ends. My problem is being in Germany. I haven't found any 'Junk Yards' to go hunt for quality used parts and am wondering if there is someone here in Germany that could provide a little mentoring on where to go, etc to find parts. There isn't exactly an 'Autozone' nearby. Also, I may want to change out the chassis and switch out the wiring harness and fuse panel at that time if I do, but think that is too much beyond my limited 'fix it' capabilities. Is there a rebuilder/refurbisher in Germany area that wouldn't charge me crazy money to do it. Or, should I purchase the chassis and have it shipped home with me to just get it done back in the states?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old July 23rd, 2012, 06:23 AM
o2batsea
Bill Adams
66 109 sw 94 lwb

Registry