110 200TDi Refurbish by total newbie - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Build-up's, Projects & Registry Profiles > Truck Build-up's & Restores

Old March 22nd, 2014, 10:24 AM
Azarur
AZ
LR 1984 110

110 200TDi Refurbish by total newbie

After months of research - and test driving of a couple of petrol 110s and one great D90 200TDi thanks to a local member - I took the plunge and bought a 1984 110 with a 200Tdi. The chassis is brand new Richards and the body is in fairly good shape. Interior needs a LOT of work. Suspension and transmission are solid 8s or 9s. Engine probably a 6 or 7.

Plan is to have a fairly complete rebuild from the ground up; evaluation and repair or replace engine; complete restore of the body and repaint; new interior and full insulation.

As of yet undecided on engine. First real test drive was mixed: Engine runs solid, but vibration is way worst than the D90 I drove. Probably hard rubber mounts. Lots of exhaust smell in the cabin (combination of bad seals and lack of insulation). After about 40 minutes at cruising speed I noticed temperature gauge rising. Pulled over an noted a coolant leak. Probably pump.

Right now undecided between repairing 200TDi and trying better engine mounts to reduce vibration or replace with something like an OM617. Definitively want to stay diesel.

So far forum members have been invaluable with support, tips, links to parts, etc.

Wife currently at DEFCON-4. May move to DEFCON-3 if I decide to replace engine. Will have to join a spouse support group when she sees the complete refit plan.

Will post start-point pictures soon.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 22nd, 2014, 11:08 AM
Iamkraig
Kraig
1987 defender 110

Registry
Congrats!
Can't wait to see the pics.
Old March 22nd, 2014, 11:10 AM
CMSgt Bo
Bo
1985 One Ten

Pics or it didn't happen.

My mechanic told me, "I couldn't repair your brakes, so I made your horn louder."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement