Welders... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old July 18th, 2005, 03:04 PM
cbass
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's

Welders...

Another post got me thinking on this subject, thanks Hans! http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...44301post44301

Anyway, what I was wondering is what kind of welders do you all have? Mig, Stick (arc), Tig, or other?? I have taken a few welding classes in High School and was pretty good at it back then (6 years ago, hehe) but I really haven't tried it since. I never got the chance to try my hand at a Tig, but have always wanted to (my HS shop got a Tig right as I graduated).

Just curious as to what you have!!
Advertisement

Old July 18th, 2005, 03:22 PM
JBurt
Jesse McCoy
'89 RRC SWB (needs work)

We've got just about everything in our machine shop at work. If it was me I'd get a portable Miller wire feed unit. If you want I can pull the model number off the side of ours.
Old July 18th, 2005, 03:47 PM
Mike Hippert
D-90Slut/Stalker,SNLPres
94 D-90 Grinding Rover

I like to tie 6 volt golf cart batteries (250 amp hour) together in series and weld junk laying around the lab together using paperclips and anything else I can find that works as good as a stick. Other then that we just use the big old 250 amp stick welder at my dads place.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old July 18th, 2005, 05:48 PM
javelinadave
-
-

I have Lincoln mig welder, a Miller arc welder and a Lincoln plasma cutter. What ever you get, you "get what you pay for". Cheap crap is cheap crap...........period. Don't buy some off brand, but I do like the Mike Hippert style of welding.
PM me if you have any specific questions.................
Old July 18th, 2005, 05:56 PM
cbass
Bradlee Duncan
'94 White and '95 Red D's

Mike, I like that idea, must work pretty well too, eh?

Thanks for posting everybody, I don't have any specific questions, I am mostly just curious as to what most of you are using.