Stereo fitting in a TD5 Dash - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old June 11th, 2011, 02:04 PM
Ben01
Status: Offline
Ben
Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,226
Stereo fitting in a TD5 Dash

Does anyone know of a full lcd screen head unit that fits in the td5 dash?

I have seen them installed and was curious if someone had a unit they recommend. I have a pop out lcd screen and the clearance is tight when in 5th gear.

I don't want to cut the dash and would want as little spacer as possible.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old June 12th, 2011, 02:47 AM
Chaucer
Status: Offline
Will
93 110 | 97 90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 583
Are you looking for single or double DIN? The single DIN motorized flip up ones look like they'd fit well but I have not seen one in person to know what the clearances are.

The only double DIN sized one I know of is the custom one that ECR has makes for their in-house jobs. Some people have used the MUD UK Console.

While I like the idea of the double DIN size, it seems the placement is low and somewhat sub optimal. I wonder how they really look from the driver's seat?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 12th, 2011, 03:39 PM
EWR's Avatar
EWR
Status: Offline
Carey
1954 CJ-3B
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaucer View Post
Are you looking for single or double DIN? The single DIN motorized flip up ones look like they'd fit well but I have not seen one in person to know what the clearances are.

The only double DIN sized one I know of is the custom one that ECR has makes for their in-house jobs. Some people have used the MUD UK Console.

While I like the idea of the double DIN size, it seems the placement is low and somewhat sub optimal. I wonder how they really look from the driver's seat?
The angle of the photos on the website might make it appear to sit low. However, from the drivers seat etc,..they are just fine.....that's what I heard at least.
__________________
What tree?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old June 13th, 2011, 11:16 AM
Ben01
Status: Offline
Ben
Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,226
I was looking for a double din...I have a flip up now.

I was thinking there has to be a screen that would fit in perfectly. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 13th, 2011, 12:31 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
IIRC all double din units have the same size ( Pioneer, Clarion, Alpine, Eclipse - I saw a Td5 fitted with an Eclipse one - , etc )
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 13th, 2011, 12:48 PM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
I believe there was 2 variations of TD5 dashes. Look at this pic http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...&postcount=149 I think this is the later one. I looks like the "knock out" is there for a double din. http://www.simmonites.com/Defender%20Interior.htm

Prior to commiting to a stereo I would look at the manual of the stereo and check the dimensions you need to fit in. I would then make a template out of cardboard and see if you can clear the wiring loom and whatever else you have there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 13th, 2011, 02:07 PM
Ben01
Status: Offline
Ben
Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,226
I will let you guys know...I have the knockout but not sure there is enough space. I was hoping someone had experience with a specific model that was a good fit.

The single flip out is very tight when in 5th just fyi for anyone considering it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 13th, 2011, 02:52 PM
Chaucer
Status: Offline
Will
93 110 | 97 90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 583
There is not enough space for a double din even if you remove the 'knock out'. It's *maybe* 1.5 din at the most. I have looked into this already. Also, the top of a double din receiver would have to start at the same point where a single din receiver starts as there is no more space vertically due to the angle of the dash/bulkhead. So it has to go down like ECR/MUD do it.

I wonder if a MUD fascia would work with a LR TD5 dash?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 13th, 2011, 05:03 PM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?s...type=1&theater

look at the above pic.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 13th, 2011, 05:21 PM
Ben01
Status: Offline
Ben
Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,226
I am going to get the exact measurements when I have a chance and then see what I can get to fit. I am sure there is an aftermarket dash console that will allow for a double din.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 13th, 2011, 05:45 PM
EWR's Avatar
EWR
Status: Offline
Carey
1954 CJ-3B
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugbier View Post
IIRC all double din units have the same size ( Pioneer, Clarion, Alpine, Eclipse - I saw a Td5 fitted with an Eclipse one - , etc )
Was that in a stock, unmodified td5 dash?....I would like to see....
__________________
What tree?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 13th, 2011, 06:16 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
Carey,

I don't know I was on that Td5 for about 1 minute, so I am not sure if it was stock , unmodified or not, looked like a stock, but I am sure you might know better.

The point I was making is ALL double din Nav units are same size ( at least the ones I've mentioned as I have had 3 out of the 4 ) installed in the same vehicle - no you can not know why *LOL* )
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 13th, 2011, 09:51 PM
EWR's Avatar
EWR
Status: Offline
Carey
1954 CJ-3B
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugbier View Post
Carey,

I don't know I was on that Td5 for about 1 minute, so I am not sure if it was stock , unmodified or not, looked like a stock, but I am sure you might know better.

The point I was making is ALL double din Nav units are same size ( at least the ones I've mentioned as I have had 3 out of the 4 ) installed in the same vehicle - no you can not know why *LOL* )
Yup, double din is double din regardless of the make. I was just curious if there was a stock double din td5 dash from the factory...as I have not witnessed any...thanks.

Too high tech for me anyway,.....I still use a rotary phone.....
__________________
What tree?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 14th, 2011, 10:11 AM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugbier View Post
Carey,

I don't know I was on that Td5 for about 1 minute, so I am not sure if it was stock , unmodified or not, looked like a stock, but I am sure you might know better.

The point I was making is ALL double din Nav units are same size ( at least the ones I've mentioned as I have had 3 out of the 4 ) installed in the same vehicle - no you can not know why *LOL* )

I think the depth will be the issue.

------ Follow up post added June 14th, 2011 11:16 AM ------

Here is a quote taken from another board (from the manufacturer of the MUD dash)


Re: Double DIN units
This is a question we get asked frequently about the MUD Console.

The dimensions of the lower recessed panel are large enough to accept a double DIN unit, however, there is a catch! The sloping profile of the dash panel behind the MUD console means there is a diminishing amount of available room to accomodate the top half of the head unit. Without chopping the back of the dash panel out it's unlikely you'll get a Double DIN to slot far enough into the Console.

Hope this makes sense and saves you chopping the panel only to find it doesn't fit!
Kev B


------ Follow up post added June 14th, 2011 11:20 AM ------

Here is an idea: Keep the stereo you have and cut the shift lever down by a few inches and have it rethreaded.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 14th, 2011, 11:42 AM
Chaucer
Status: Offline
Will
93 110 | 97 90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 583
What are the chanced ECR will make these available for mail order? Probably slim to none?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 14th, 2011, 05:09 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Sorry, these are a major PITA to make and fit. There are a lot of factors not mentioned that cause more issues than discussed here. These are not a one time/ easy fit thing. They have to be worked and re-worked in order to fit. I see no way these could be made as generic one size fits all pieces. We have no plans or desire to sell these mail order.
Sorry.

Thanks.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old June 16th, 2011, 01:50 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Here is a better image of one of these we just installed on BR #6. For those who are doing this job: The radio we use (Alpine) can not go any higher, otherwise there would be no room for the hazard light switch plug (as it is that is hard to put on). The trim ring is not in place on this unit yet. Also most double DIN units do not sit flush with the dash. We want our units flush with the dash and that creates even more issues with the flip out function to load CD,DVDs. The trim ring has to be custom made. The factory unit will not fit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC07157.jpg
Views:	8244
Size:	111.7 KB
ID:	39715  
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old June 16th, 2011, 04:09 PM
EWR's Avatar
EWR
Status: Offline
Carey
1954 CJ-3B
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 558
Come on,.... all of those pieces are off the shelf....nothings custom. Why don't you mail order......
__________________
What tree?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old June 18th, 2011, 02:23 PM
Ben01
Status: Offline
Ben
Defender
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,226
I was most concerned about the clearance in the back too...thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Tags
dash, stereo, td5

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to put extra gauges when fitting new style TD5 dash? dave_lucas Defender Technical Discussions 12 May 11th, 2011 11:50 PM
Limited number of new NTO / New Td5 Dash Kits SafariHP The Vendors Loft 0 January 1st, 2011 04:03 PM
Late Td5 Dash Fitting surf110 Defender Technical Discussions 11 August 8th, 2008 12:31 PM
TD5 dash pictures jetmech Defender Technical Discussions 0 May 30th, 2008 03:20 PM
Stereo Install In Dash caschumann Defender Technical Discussions 18 November 4th, 2004 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Copyright