Start a Defender Build or go another route? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old August 30th, 2014, 11:43 PM
angdefeo
Angelo DeFeo
none

Start a Defender Build or go another route?

I am new to the Land Rover Defender world but have admired these trucks since i first saw the North American Defenders at the Philadelphia Auto Show in the 90’s. Back then i could not afford one of these trucks. Now i am older and can afford one of these beasts but i don’t know if they will be able to satisfy my requirements. This is why i am creating this post. I am trying to figure out the limitations of a Defender. And if it possible to modify a Defender to fit my needs?

So if you could, please take a minute to read and give me your honest opinion. I have pretty thick skin so help me figure this out. Should i go with a Defender or a just give up and go with another brand that is more comfortable, already has modern interior and electronics.

What i want from my truck:

- Drive it without being bounced all over the drivers seat on varying road conditions, from smooth highways to badly potholed city and state streets.
- Have a quiet enough cabin that i wont feel like i just left a rock concert. (Dnyamat the interior in order to make the cabin quiet.)
- Ability to drive over 65 mph on the highway and not feel like the truck has hit a wall cause the pedal has to be floored and that the suspension is floating over the road cause you are above its capabilities.
- Have A/C and Heater that will keep me comfortable.
- An interior that is capable of supporting modern electronics like jacks to supply power to phones, etc. Modify it enough to support a modern gps head unit.

Here are some of the things to take into account.