!st Day with D90! - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old June 21st, 2011, 06:55 AM
MC36
Michael Christian
97 D90 ST British Racing Green

!st Day with D90!

Newbie here and posting about my first full day with my NEW D90. As soon as I figure out how to post pictures I will, sorry I know how annoying these post are without pics!

It is a 1997 BRG ST with 34,000 miles, the first three owners took very good care of it hope I can follow the tradition.

Here are a few observations and questions after one day of ownership that only time spent with it would I have figured out.
  • Finding the horn was a suprise! Could not figure it out until I stumbled upon it trying to turn right.
  • The space between the door and the steering wheel is going to cause me to go out and buy a beater watch. I have taken two or three good wacks out of my watch trying to turn or reach for the turn stalk.
  • You can't ware anything nice when driving this vehicle because grease or dirt is everywhere. Dress shirt I was waring now has a nice 'Defender kiss" across the side.
  • The Bespoke top is an absolute B*!#$! It took me an hour to get that thing on and I still dont have the back window in correctly. It was a series of snapping and velcroing and redoing and pulling that I did not expect. I figure you can't do this in a hurry nor can you do this with anything nice on! Please tell me there are some 'how to' instructions on here that might make this easier? By the way how does the cross bar on the back window fit on those tracks? Do both slots go inside the track or only the top fitting?
  • Cleaning the plastic windows will be a never ending challange. What are you suppose to use on them to get them clean? Was afraid to use any cleaner or solvent.
  • I have to clean out the garage to find a space to park the spare parts, windows, tops, mats, etc. What can you clean the tops with?