remote switch to control outlet (wireless) question - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old January 19th, 2013, 05:05 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
remote switch to control outlet (wireless) question

I was hoping somebody might have some advice for me. Does anybody know of a system that will wirelessly trigger an outlet when power is turned on from a nearby one?

These -> http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-6697-W...ef=pd_sxp_f_pt are close, but I'd really like if I can find one that the sender is plugged in then sends the "on" signal when it has power.

here's the background:
A lot of the rooms in my house have switched outlets for lamps, etc which I HATE. My wife wants to put a few lamps in our bedroom to add to the single one that is currently controlled by a switched outlet. I'd really like all 3 lamps to turn on at once when I flip the wall switch. Lamp #1 (original) due to it being plugged into 1 of the 2 plugs, and lamps 2 and 3 because their sender is plugged into the other plug (on that same circuit). Lamps 2 and 3 would be getting power from across the room by way of their own (always on) plugs.

Make sense? I would settle for a switch that can be setup to more than 1 receiver...

I figured somebody on this board might have a good idea.
Thoughts?
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old January 19th, 2013, 05:44 PM
Shep29's Avatar
Shep29
Status: Offline
KS
'95 RRC LWB
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: On a Mountain
Posts: 815
Registry
Look into Z-Wave wireless switches and outlets. I have a home automation Z-Wave network in my house. I use Micasaverde as the controller and run a bunch of wireless switches to do certain tasks.
__________________
'95 RRC LWB Aspen Silver
'86 110 SW Conniston Green - SOLD
'95 D90 ST Beluga Black - SOLD
'96 D1 SE7 Willow Green - SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 19th, 2013, 05:57 PM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
Open up all the outlets. If the electrician was on his game he ran 14-3 (red white and black). If all boxes have 14-3 you can configure anyway you want by splitting the outlet in half. All you do is break the tab and you can hook up the red to the bottom half and black to the top.

So if you want every other outlet to be on the switch you would "break" the tabs on those. The ones that you don't want on the switch you don break then and you connect the two red wires in that box.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1768552813.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	534.8 KB
ID:	64761
__________________
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old January 19th, 2013, 07:53 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
I have Universal Powerline Bus stuff in my house... it can also do the same thing. Change out the switch in the wall to a UPB switch, and then plug in the other lamp into a lamp module. The switch can tell the plug in module to turn on and off if that's all you want it to do.

For something simple like that you won't need any controllers or fancy equipment. It would be about 100 bucks to get.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 19th, 2013, 09:25 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
I like these suggestions. I'll open the outlet and see what I find then post back. Thanks.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 19th, 2013, 09:54 PM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillstrubl View Post
I like these suggestions. I'll open the outlet and see what I find then post back. Thanks.
There is a high probability that the panel power goes to the switch box. You should find a wire nut with 2 blacks and one red in there. If you find that you should be good to go. Good luck.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 21st, 2013, 11:29 AM
tjfslaughter's Avatar
tjfslaughter
Status: Offline
thomas
Burbon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 4,563
Any updates?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 21st, 2013, 05:10 PM
hillstrubl's Avatar
hillstrubl
Status: Offline
Danny
2005 Disco 3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Philly, USA
Posts: 1,596
haven't cracked open the wall plate yet. I need to move a bunch of furniture to get to it... so I'm dragging my feet. I was thinking though, how does a product like my original question not exist? the "sender" resides in a switched plug, then you pair it to several "receivers" plugged into constant power plugs between the device and the power source. Honestly that would be plug and play.
__________________
~2005 Disco 3 "Moneypenny"
~2008 GTI TSI
~If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 21st, 2013, 08:47 PM
Tino.R's Avatar
Tino.R
Status: Offline
Tino Rebelo
67/series IIA
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CT.
Posts: 26
Read more about the levinton 6697 rec.trans.because I think you can program more than one outlet to the same switch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Tags
remote, switch

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ever replaced your front wiper control switch? chris snell Defender Technical Discussions 2 March 23rd, 2010 03:36 PM
Warn Wireless remote to a 3 wire winch Help Hammertime Defender Technical Discussions 4 October 26th, 2009 02:57 PM
Can anyone explain what happens after the light switch is turned on? solihul Defender Technical Discussions 3 June 30th, 2005 07:28 AM
Husky 10 with Warn Remote?? priest944 Defender Technical Discussions 7 March 31st, 2005 07:56 PM
Ignition switch jorge Defender Technical Discussions 1 January 10th, 2005 01:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Copyright