http://www.pelican.com/luggage/

Time for tab two...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 15th, 2014, 11:54 PM
javelinadave
-
-

Hardside luggage sucks unless you are transporting something fragile. I'm a professional traveler and know what I am talking about. You are welcome.
Old October 15th, 2014, 11:55 PM
Davis
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS

So oddly addictive.... And hard sided I prefer for travel where I drag opposed to carry (particularly when heavy)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 16th, 2014, 12:10 AM
fishEH
Brett Fritzler
94, 95, 96 D1's

Better use it for packing feathers cuz I bet those things weigh a ton.
Old October 16th, 2014, 12:24 AM
Davis
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS

Looks like they are heavy. Buzz killed.
Old October 16th, 2014, 04:44 AM
NPT90
JT
D90 óriginalé

Registry
http://www.pelican.com/cases_detail/Case/1510LOC/

3#s lighter than the current variant which I use (and I've traveled 75K this year)

Yes the current LOC is heavy, yes I carry it, yes I also fly with my testicles... though I want the new peli in purple please

Gah! $400 no reason to upgrade for those 3#s!
Old October 16th, 2014, 05:25 AM
Ray_G
Ray Gerber
54 S1 86", 96 D1 (Coyote), 06 D3

Registry
I find my hardsided samsonites to be adequate; but we also treat them as disposable. If mine last 6mo-1yr I'll be surprised given the way the airlines here treat them.

Everything is a tradeoff; not sure I'd want the weight for the durability.
Old October 16th, 2014, 05:39 AM
Rocky
Chris
72 + D1 drivetrain

Can you use them as bridging ladders?

I don't know about the brakes, only their unreliability.
Old October 16th, 2014, 08:25 AM
Bill Larson
Bill Larson
97 D90 SW

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
Can you use them as bridging ladders?
Had not considered that...it would be a selling point! Yeah the haul weight is one of the reasons I'm going to use the aluminum boxes for some of my trips. Plastic bags and tape sound better more and more!