Surf90
C.S.
1989 Defender 110 200tdi

Registry
Parts only Defender

Hello all.

A lot of you have probably seen this post:

http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...eferrerid=8779

I have posted in the wanted section twice now, and am on the search for a quality D90 NAS in the low 20's ... well, I've been talking with Dave (who owns that Defender) for over two months now and I think this may be my best bet. I've done a bunch of research and I think it just may be possible to register a Parts Only Bill of Sale in the state of California as a "Junked Vehicle."

Every bit of common sense in me screams that the LAST place this would be possible would be in CA, but with what I see online and the folks I have talked to at the DMV, it seems to be possible.

SO, before I pull the trigger I would love to hear your thoughts. Am I out of my mind? Will this just become a big beautiful paper weight in my garage? Does anyone have any first hand experience with this in the state of California??

Thanks so much in advance. Your insight, and knowledge is much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old September 10th, 2012, 03:16 AM
Rocky
Chris
72 + D1 drivetrain

I'd rather get a complete but worn out and clean titled Defender than a collection of parts that may not be legally registered.

I don't know about the brakes, only their unreliability.
Old September 10th, 2012, 05:47 AM
gravitysucks
Andy
94 D90

Registry
You could register that as a Special Construction vehicle (as in no longer considered a Land Rover) for off road use only. The non-rebuildable title kills it for road use in Ca.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old September 10th, 2012, 09:06 AM
leastonce
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team

Registry
Every last bit of common sense should say don't get involved in a vehicle that the owner can't get title to drive on the road.
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Old September 10th, 2012, 09:26 AM
rijosho
Joshua