LR3 Suspension Fault - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old January 29th, 2015, 07:58 AM
speedpin's Avatar
speedpin
Status: Offline
Adam
1985 130 Gen IV
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 2,269
Registry
LR3 Suspension Fault

Got a Suspension Fault in a LR3. Has Johnson rods. I believe it thinks its in standard mode when its really in access height. And offroad when its in standard height. Tried pulling relay and two EAS fuses. No luck. Disconnected rods and cycled sensors, no luck Pulled both leads off battery for 30 min. No luck. Just seems the computer is confused with level sensors. Anyone local with scanning capability.

I know, this will be a wild goose chase until i can pull codes. Had no issues with compressor prior to this, and runs fine until the fault light pops up, compressor stops.

First LR3 so any tips or "tricks"

I will continue my google search as well.
__________________
~ Semper Fidelis ~
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old January 29th, 2015, 08:06 AM
mud ruts's Avatar
mud ruts
Status: Offline
Chris Ray
97 Disco
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 656
The drier's on the air compressor clog up and over heat the compressor.
If it continues the compressor will need to be replaced.
You can clean out the drier and replace the silicon material in it if you get to it in time.
This is the problem 90% if the time.
__________________
Mud Ruts Off-Road Rover Repair shop 614.301.1574

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 29th, 2015, 08:12 AM
speedpin's Avatar
speedpin
Status: Offline
Adam
1985 130 Gen IV
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 2,269
Registry
will look into it, thx.

Update, this morning i looked at the nav screen and the two front wheel sensors have a flashing red block next to them on the screen. First time this has happened since i stared trouble shooting.
__________________
~ Semper Fidelis ~
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old January 31st, 2015, 11:15 PM
speedpin's Avatar
speedpin
Status: Offline
Adam
1985 130 Gen IV
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 2,269
Registry
Well. Looks like suspension fault is attributed to the wsy the LR3 was chained down durring transport to me. Shipper has agreed to pay for repairs.
I trailered the 3, HEAVY, to Arlington motorcar service in T ysons corner VA based on some recommendations. Its in the hands of Carlos and team. So far they have been great. Will follow up with service report.
__________________
~ Semper Fidelis ~
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 31st, 2015, 11:17 PM
speedpin's Avatar
speedpin
Status: Offline
Adam
1985 130 Gen IV
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 2,269
Registry
Pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20150131_231627.png
Views:	73
Size:	470.1 KB
ID:	112448  
__________________
~ Semper Fidelis ~
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 31st, 2015, 11:58 PM
Jymmiejamz's Avatar
Jymmiejamz
Status: Offline
Jimmy
1995 D90 SW #365
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,468
Registry
This is probably a result of the Johnson rods being installed. Once the front suspension drops below a certain point (with Jrods installed) the height sensors go out of range and it sets a fault. This can be fixed by jacking up the front of the vehicle so that the height sensors are back in the correct range. This is not the tow company's fault, it is just a poorly designed aftermarket part installed on the vehicle.
__________________
Car Camping Collective founding member and Treasurer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 1st, 2015, 05:19 AM
jrose609's Avatar
jrose609
Status: Offline
Jason Rose
1983 110 County 200tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 648
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedpin View Post
Pic.
Nice looking LR3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 1st, 2015, 06:19 AM
speedpin's Avatar
speedpin
Status: Offline
Adam
1985 130 Gen IV
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 2,269
Registry
Did all the trouble shooting. Jacked it up, pulled eas fuses, hard reset, etc. Would be nice if easy fix. We will see.
__________________
~ Semper Fidelis ~
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 1st, 2015, 07:14 AM
jpc1818's Avatar
jpc1818
Status: Offline
james
1998 D1/06 LR3 HSE HD/16RRS Diesel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 136
There is a good rebuild kit that i bought and installed on my LR3.
Got the OEM parts from British Parts of Utah.
Was a relay (should be brown if it was previously changed), air compressor repair kit and the dryer.
Worked for me...however i don't have any aftermarket suspension parts.
Good luck...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Tags
lr3

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LR3: 7 degrees F = Transmission fault? down_shift Misc. Chit-Chat 5 January 8th, 2015 12:44 PM
Lr3 suspension Rugbier Misc. Chit-Chat 30 October 22nd, 2014 11:57 PM
Lr3 suspension fault lordhelemt Defender Technical Discussions 7 June 29th, 2014 09:14 AM
LR3/LR4/RRS Air Suspension Compressor Blowout discojosh2000 For Sale - Parts 0 December 30th, 2011 09:51 AM
Fault Code Misfire on #6 cylinder dbwitt Defender Technical Discussions 2 February 16th, 2004 10:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Copyright