Lr3 suspension - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 1st, 2014, 02:51 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
Lr3 suspension

Last night in the middle of the nasty downpour my suspension dropped

It will not go up

Message on dash " vehicle will raise when system cooled "

Bad compressor ?
If I change the compressor, do I need it flashed by the stealer?

Thanks
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 1st, 2014, 03:02 PM
Ray_G's Avatar
Ray_G
Status: Offline
Ray Gerber
54 S1 86", 96 D1 (Coyote), 06 D3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NoVA
Posts: 2,636
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugbier View Post
Last night in the middle of the nasty downpour my suspension dropped

It will not go up

Message on dash " vehicle will raise when system cooled "

Bad compressor ?
If I change the compressor, do I need it flashed by the stealer?

Thanks
You try zeroing it all out by unhooking the battery for ~10 min?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 1st, 2014, 03:04 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray_G View Post
You try zeroing it all out by unhooking the battery for ~10 min?
Of course not *LOL*

I always forget that
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old May 1st, 2014, 03:15 PM
MUDSUX's Avatar
MUDSUX
Status: Offline
Forrest
Like my Tatas?
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl. US
Posts: 1,641
Registry
Strange. My right front always drops when it rains. Not while driving but when it is parked in a downpour.

Have you cleaned out your compressor? Sometimes the vibration breaks down the drying agent into a powder and it clogs up the compressor causing it to work overtime. You can take it apart and put the drying "rocks" in the oven to renew or you can buy new and refill it.
__________________
MUDSUX

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"It is the soldier, who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag that allows the protester to burn the flag"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 1st, 2014, 03:16 PM
Jymmiejamz's Avatar
Jymmiejamz
Status: Offline
Jimmy
1995 D90 SW #365
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,468
Registry
If you replace the compressor you will need to update the software. If you rebuild it, you should update the ride level module, but it isn't required. If your compressor overheated, you may have a leak somewhere. I would recommend unhooking the battery and letting it sit overnight to see if any corners drop down.
__________________
Car Camping Collective founding member and Treasurer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 1st, 2014, 03:38 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jymmiejamz View Post
If you replace the compressor you will need to update the software. If you rebuild it, you should update the ride level module, but it isn't required. If your compressor overheated, you may have a leak somewhere. I would recommend unhooking the battery and letting it sit overnight to see if any corners drop down.
Jimmy,

I was stuck in a bumper to bumper on the downpour.

All the sudden became a low-rider

My suspension is dropped already ( specially the front )

Is the flashing software via VIN number or just via the ECU for the Compressor, I mean it reprograms the whole vehicle or just that individual module?

Thanks
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 1st, 2014, 05:02 PM
Roverlab
Status: Offline
Trevor Griffiths
85 110, 92 110, 92 RR, 06 LR3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Elizabethotwn, PA
Posts: 1,647
With Autologic, one can choose individual systems to upload and download software.
__________________
Roverlab is now British 4x4 Specialists.
Email is
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Same place, new dogs.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 1st, 2014, 05:06 PM
jafir's Avatar
jafir
Status: Offline
Jafir Elkurd
Flaky Green 198something ex-mod 90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Centerton, AR
Posts: 1,580
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roverlab View Post
With Autologic, one can choose individual systems to upload and download software.
I was able to do that with nanocom too. You have to be able to figure out which software to use, as it's not quite as smart as the land rover system.

Is autologic more automated?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 1st, 2014, 05:44 PM
Jymmiejamz's Avatar
Jymmiejamz
Status: Offline
Jimmy
1995 D90 SW #365
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,468
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rugbier View Post
Jimmy,

I was stuck in a bumper to bumper on the downpour.

All the sudden became a low-rider

My suspension is dropped already ( specially the front )

Is the flashing software via VIN number or just via the ECU for the Compressor, I mean it reprograms the whole vehicle or just that individual module?

Thanks
It only updates the individual module. Are you saying that you know you have a leak in the air suspension system already? If so, that would put excessive strain on you compressor, which could have caused the failure.
__________________
Car Camping Collective founding member and Treasurer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 1st, 2014, 08:41 PM
Rugbier's Avatar
Rugbier
Status: Offline
Gustavo
110 Tdi - 110 N/A - D3 HSE - RRS SC
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Peoples Republic of Marylandistan
Posts: 5,884
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jymmiejamz View Post
It only updates the individual module. Are you saying that you know you have a leak in the air suspension system already? If so, that would put excessive strain on you compressor, which could have caused the failure.
No, what I am saying is the truck dropped to access level suddenly and it will not raise

If I start the truck I do not hear the compressor

My suspension never dropped before this event
__________________
NO SIGNATURE
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 1st, 2014, 09:50 PM
Jymmiejamz's Avatar
Jymmiejamz
Status: Offline
Jimmy
1995 D90 SW #365
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,468
Registry
You probably need a compressor unless water got into something.
__________________
Car Camping Collective founding member and Treasurer
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 20th, 2014, 05:48 PM
MUDSUX's Avatar
MUDSUX
Status: Offline
Forrest
Like my Tatas?
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl. US
Posts: 1,641
Registry
Gustavo did you ever get this fixed? My 2008 just started doing this yesterday. It's down to the bump stops and will not get back up again. The red suspension fault light is on and the "special programs off" light is on. Used the Faultmate but I cannot clear the faults:

U0421 Invalid data received from ride level control module
C1A01 LED circuit
C1A74 Rear left height sensor mechanism
C1A75 Rear right height sensor mechanism

I was pulling a trailer and when taking it off the hitch was stuck on the ball, I was in access height mode at the time. I used a floor jack to lift the trailer off the ball, raised it about 8-10 inches before it popped off. Right after that the faults started. I do have extended rods on but it has never given me a problem. Any ideas before I start throwing money at it? Thanks
__________________
MUDSUX

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"It is the soldier, who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag that allows the protester to burn the flag"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 20th, 2014, 06:19 PM
jafir's Avatar
jafir
Status: Offline
Jafir Elkurd
Flaky Green 198something ex-mod 90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Centerton, AR
Posts: 1,580
Registry
Did you height sensors flip over? I thought I read something about that.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 20th, 2014, 06:40 PM
the rover shop
Status: Offline
shayne young
89,93 & 95 camel trophy 110s 06 130
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ft lauderdale florida
Posts: 5,225
I have found that sometimes when you go down on the bump stops that the sensors don't read in that position, I have remedied this by jacking the front and rear up a little with a flor jack under the body and that puts the sensors into their normal range, then start the car, with all the doors closed and see what happens, this also allows the compressor to not have to strain to raise the car to that height...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 20th, 2014, 07:02 PM
Jymmiejamz's Avatar
Jymmiejamz
Status: Offline
Jimmy
1995 D90 SW #365
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,468
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDSUX View Post
Gustavo did you ever get this fixed? My 2008 just started doing this yesterday. It's down to the bump stops and will not get back up again. The red suspension fault light is on and the "special programs off" light is on. Used the Faultmate but I cannot clear the faults:

U0421 Invalid data received from ride level control module
C1A01 LED circuit
C1A74 Rear left height sensor mechanism
C1A75 Rear right height sensor mechanism

I was pulling a trailer and when taking it off the hitch was stuck on the ball, I was in access height mode at the time. I used a floor jack to lift the trailer off the ball, raised it about 8-10 inches before it popped off. Right after that the faults started. I do have extended rods on but it has never given me a problem. Any ideas before I start throwing money at it? Thanks
Does your truck have a nav screen? If so put it on the 4x4 view and that will give you the live data from the height sensors. Watch that as you raise the suspension up and down, and you will see which one is bad. One of your rear height sensors is probably bad, but a lot of times two will set faults when one is acting up.
__________________
Car Camping Collective founding member and Treasurer
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 20th, 2014, 07:16 PM
MUDSUX's Avatar
MUDSUX
Status: Offline
Forrest
Like my Tatas?
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando, Fl. US
Posts: 1,641
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by jafir View Post
Did you height sensors flip over? I thought I read something about that.
I hope not. I don't think I raised the truck up high enough for that to happen but will check.

------ Follow up post added October 20th, 2014 07:17 PM ------

Quote:
Originally Posted by the rover shop View Post
I have found that sometimes when you go down on the bump stops that the sensors don't read in that position, I have remedied this by jacking the front and rear up a little with a flor jack under the body and that puts the sensors into their normal range, then start the car, with all the doors closed and see what happens, this also allows the compressor to not have to strain to raise the car to that height...
Good stuff, I will try this. Not sure why all 4 corners are on the bump stops in the first place.

------ Follow up post added October 20th, 2014 07:19 PM ------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jymmiejamz View Post
Does your truck have a nav screen? If so put it on the 4x4 view and that will give you the live data from the height sensors. Watch that as you raise the suspension up and down, and you will see which one is bad. One of your rear height sensors is probably bad, but a lot of times two will set faults when one is acting up.
Sadly no Nav screen. I can't even raise the truck. I won't go up at all. I gotta check to see if the compressor is even running. I have been researching this all day and it can be anything from blown brake light bulbs, to brake light switch, to bad compressors, having McDonalds for lunch, etc. The list goes on and on
__________________
MUDSUX

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"It is the soldier, who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag that allows the protester to burn the flag"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 20th, 2014, 07:56 PM
Jymmiejamz's Avatar
Jymmiejamz
Status: Offline
Jimmy
1995 D90 SW #365
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,468
Registry
Those faults are caused by the height sensor or wiring, not the brake light switch, ect.. If you don't want to pay someone to diagnose it, I would just replace both rear height sensors and don't bother calibrating them unless the truck sits unlevel.
__________________
Car Camping Collective founding member and Treasurer
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 20th, 2014, 08:08 PM
the rover shop
Status: Offline
shayne young
89,93 & 95 camel trophy 110s 06 130
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ft lauderdale florida
Posts: 5,225
I believe jimmy will correct me if I'm wrong but one of the reasons why the compressor was replaced with an updated unit was because of a faulty exhausting valve that would leak/stick open, dumping pressure reserves out, then when the system tries to level itself out by inflating itself it has no reserve so it lowers the highest ones to the lowest ones levels, if that makes sense.. Before you know it it's on its bump stops.. Remember you have to have all the doors and tailgate etc closed for it to operate, not sure if you can do it on the lr3 etc but the previous ones I used to be able to take the output hose off at the compressor and fill the system with compressed air from my shop compressor, as long as it is only your compressor that is bad you can get the system up to normal height . Jimmy, does this system have to have the steering angle sensor re calibrated lock to lock or was it only the earlier ones, after disconnecting the battery..
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 20th, 2014, 08:10 PM
Jackie Treehorn's Avatar
Jackie Treehorn
Status: Offline
A
1985 (legitimately)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,984
Registry
I can only speak from my experiences (and pages of reading) involving my 2004 MKIII, but the first compressor failed when the truck was less than year old because whenever it rained the spare tire well (where the compressor is located) filled with water because of a failed drain. So naturally, there were issues when it rained. That doesn't sound like your issue.

When the compressor overheats (or the temp reading trips the system to shut it down) the computer will need a reset I think, but usually you get an "air suspension inactive" dash warning. I use Allcoms software, but regardless, you're probably going to need to reset or reactivity the system (not just by disconnecting the battery).

Is the compressor the same as a Range Rover? (Jimmy question)
If so, I have a rebuilt one I was saving for a spare that I'd sell cheap (new rebuild kit with Teflon rings).
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 20th, 2014, 08:12 PM
jafir's Avatar
jafir
Status: Offline
Jafir Elkurd
Flaky Green 198something ex-mod 90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Centerton, AR
Posts: 1,580
Registry
The main reason the compressor was changed was because the factory was damaged by the tsunami. Or that's what I heard. They are making them again and you can get new hitachi compressors in the aftermarket now.

Also I just noticed today that arnott has the AMK for $699.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LR3/LR4/RRS Air Suspension Compressor Blowout discojosh2000 For Sale - Parts 0 December 30th, 2011 09:51 AM
Suspension benh Defender Technical Discussions 30 February 17th, 2004 02:04 PM
Rear Suspension Question dnewman9 Defender Technical Discussions 3 February 1st, 2004 06:31 PM
Suspension! TwisteD90 For Sale - Parts 11 January 14th, 2004 04:13 PM
OME suspension, and tires huntahdefender Defender Technical Discussions 4 October 10th, 2003 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Copyright