Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old August 27th, 2007, 09:11 PM
shawnpalmer
Shawn Palmer
1997 SW-Arles Blue

Registry
Hey HAM radio guys

Does anyone know if the Yaesu FT-7800 can be modded to talk on air frequencies? I need a radio in my truck that can talk on Air frequencies (for heli use) and frequencies that I could use on the trail. I did a google search and it looked like it could be done, but wanted to see if anyone here knows for sure. TIA

97 D90 SW
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 27th, 2007, 10:36 PM
PCRover
Gary Young
'94 90ST -> SW

I don't believe it can do what you want. Most VHF/UHF ham radios can't transmit AM that is required for Aircraft use.
Old August 28th, 2007, 02:06 PM
kellymoe
kevin
defender 130

Registry
I am new to HAM and cant personally answer your question but I would bet it can be done. I have a few friends that are very HAM savvy and they both have done things to their HT ratios to expand the capabilities. I will ask around and try and get answer for you. BTW I just installed a FT-7800R in my truck last week. I like it but the controls are not very intuitive. I have a Yaesu VX170 hand held and I can figure out many of the features without going to the manual. The 7800 is not as simple, for example it takes many steps to set a PL on the 7800 and only 2 steps on the 170. Aside from that it's a great radio especially since I got it for free
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 28th, 2007, 02:38 PM
shawnpalmer
Shawn Palmer
1997 SW-Arles Blue

Registry
I would really appreciate it. I don't mind which radio it is, as long as it will perform the functions I described earlier.

97 D90 SW
Old August 28th, 2007, 04:10 PM
Hans
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat