Hey Coloradoans, anybody know "Forbes Park"? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old March 5th, 2005, 06:24 PM
Hans
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat

Hey Coloradoans, anybody know "Forbes Park"?

I'm eyeballing a few pieces of property there, anybody familiar with that place at all? Near Ft. Garland and Walsenberg.

-Hans

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 5th, 2005, 10:05 PM
Rod Hayward
Rod Hayward
95 D90 Green #2288

Hi Hans,

I'm no expert on the area although I've been through there a number of times. Forbes Park, I believe, is kind of a "chunk" knocked off of the Forbes Trinchera Ranch. You know, Malcomb Forbes bling, bling$$$. It's a huge ranch that stretches basically from the south side of hiway 160 on the west side of La Veta pass-- to the New Mexico border. I think the area known as Forbes Park is the area you can see from hiway 160 on the south side maybe 5-10 miles east of Ft Garland. Alot of it is sagebrush, pinyon, and dirt -pretty darn dry... Not that country like that is necessarily unatractive, but it's not what people often think of as Colorado mountain country. As you go south into Forbes Park the elevation increases so perhaps over the hill from what you can see from the hiway it may be turning into something more like ponderosa pine country, I doubt there is anywhere in the Park where you would be getting into Fir. Higher country is very near by -the Sangre de Cristos are just to the north of you (as well as the sand dunes). I think there are other guys who post here who could tell you about some serious wheelin' in that area (most of my experience around th