Dome lights Install - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old June 14th, 2016, 04:49 PM
ATX_D110's Avatar
ATX_D110
Status: Offline
Victor
1985 RHD D110 (SOLD)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin, Texas USA
Posts: 838
Ok, I'm attempting to do some electric!!!! My current dome light is run off one wire from the dome/instrument switch. I assume the pictured light requires two wires and some connector..... Correct? Also, can I daisy chain together three of these? Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3853918264.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	525.6 KB
ID:	151963   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3930852992.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	461.1 KB
ID:	151964  

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old June 14th, 2016, 05:01 PM
DPdotCOM's Avatar
DPdotCOM
Status: Offline
Dan Pollock
1983 Defender 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: SoHo, NYC
Posts: 280
I'm thinkin about doing a domelight install too. Is that single wire style grounded somehow? I need to extend my existing wire (to string it through a roll bar) but I'm not totally sure what to do when there's only one wire.
__________________
Seafoam Green 1983 110 3 Door - sometimes SW, current ST.
Spent it's working years in France, it's mid-life crisis in The Hamptons, and now its golden years in Washington, D.C.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 14th, 2016, 06:10 PM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
That light requires 3 wires for a correct install.
Ground
Switched from the dash/door
Hot battery wire

I just did this 2 weeks ago.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old June 14th, 2016, 06:39 PM
ATX_D110's Avatar
ATX_D110
Status: Offline
Victor
1985 RHD D110 (SOLD)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin, Texas USA
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by javelinadave View Post
That light requires 3 wires for a correct install. Ground Switched from the dash/door Hot battery wire I just did this 2 weeks ago.
Thanks, Dave! Is there a special connector you used?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 14th, 2016, 06:42 PM
javelinadave
Status: Offline
-
-
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 5,394
It uses some super skinny female blades for the power and the ground was I believe a standard female blade. I had an adapter that came with my MudUK overhead console but I bet it is also a standard Discovery part so any donor truck should have 2 sets.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 14th, 2016, 07:44 PM
Angus's Avatar
Angus
Status: Offline
Mike Ferguson
1994 Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 173
Registry
I daisy chained 2 together when I put the full length headliner in my POE D90. Wired them so they come on when the door is open, when you turn them on by their individual switch, and via a switch on the dash panel. I used LED bulbs so I would not overload the current fuse.
__________________
Angus
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 14th, 2016, 07:52 PM
bjf's Avatar
bjf
Status: Offline
barry f
94 ST #395
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,969
I did three in my NAS 110 which was awesome. There is a thread on here somewhere.
__________________
Quote:
Are there shocks that I can addjust up and down like my friends LX460? That would be very cool!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 14th, 2016, 09:57 PM
El Solis's Avatar
El Solis
Status: Online
Chris Solis
Camel Trophy 110 sorta :)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Livermore, CA USA
Posts: 537
I just did the dome light on my truck that only had the one purple and white wire. For the MUD UK dome light (I'm actually doing s review for Lucky8 on this) I grounded the unit to the base for my light using the grub screw that held that glass cover on and didn't use the door activated wire since I don't have that feature. As I have an internal roll cage I had to fab up a mounting box as well. In the end I am very happy with the results. I had already ran a red LED strip for the second row and the MUD UK unit is just far superior. All in all this is well worth it. The ability to have red and white at the flip of a switch in a convenient location is really nice.

Here is my baseplate with the ground wire attached to the grub screw.


here is the box I used to mount the unit.




This is my original strip light and what it looks like at night.




Here is the MID UK red light


Here is the MUD UK white light
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 RRC dome light/ puddle lights phunter Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 27th, 2014 06:02 PM
blinking dome lights GaryBaxter Defender Technical Discussions 17 August 10th, 2013 08:28 PM
6 festoon led dome interior lights in bright white Ben01 For Sale - Parts 23 June 5th, 2013 08:31 AM
Wiring interior dome lights together the_eaze Defender Technical Discussions 0 October 5th, 2009 02:27 AM
Can I use a Dome light switch for hella lights tebby Defender Technical Discussions 4 September 5th, 2009 11:12 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Copyright