Diesel Questions - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old February 14th, 2008, 09:14 PM
Defender13
Mike Lynch
1994 Defender 90 #1017

Diesel Questions

Just picked up a new Grand Cherokee diesel and really like it so far. I am new to the diesel world and have found myself asking alot of questions. One question is with the engine block heater. I have read the entire manual and still have a lot of questions. First, how cold does it need to be for me to have to plug in the engine block heater? I live in Michigan and it's pretty damn cold right now. Second, a few people that I have talked to regarding diesels have told me to just leave it running if I am going to be only a few minutes in a store or at the gym for 30 minutes or so. They say it easier on the engine just to leave it running and it keeps the engine warm in the winter months. I was also told that less fuel is used/burned running at a idle compared to turning it on and off. After thinking about it, I seem to remember a lot of big rigs leaving their trucks running while parked or while taking a break at a rest area.

Any info, suggestions or opinions would be great.

Thanks

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old February 14th, 2008, 11:24 PM
Buckon37s
Buck
Re-Fendered 90

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defender13