Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old August 28th, 2017, 11:35 AM
slikrik98
Rick
None

Defender Newbie - any guidance?

Hey Everyone,

I'm a Defender newbie, and I realize I'm the exception here, but I didn't see a forum specifically geared for beginners like me. I'm hoping someone can give me some directional advice. Let me give you the super quick summary:
  • I've been lusting over D110s for the last 15 years but never had the resources (including time) to do anything about it
  • For the last 5 years I've been patiently waiting for LR to give guidance on the next generation Defender, and while waiting until 2019 isn't the end of the world, I think I've decided no matter what they release, I'll still want the classic
  • I'm not at all mechanically-inclined, but look at Defender ownership as an opportunity to change that. I figure today there are more resources online than ever before so I could make at least a portion of this DIY
  • I've seen places like ECD and Arkonik and really love the look of their more subtle rebuilds - some of them are over-the-top, but what I really want is something that looks like a classic defender but which looks new (and maybe "fixes" some of the less desirable aspects of Defenders, even new ones) - I realize that last sentence may be blasphemy here, but while I want to have a classic Defender experience in most ways, if I can prevent water from dripping on me during a heavy rainstorm, or be able to drive faster than 65MPH, or have headrests on the middle row, I think I'd like that