Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old September 8th, 2017, 11:01 AM
pitchrollyaw
wayne p
1985 d90 2.5NA

Registry
Classic 'glass boats

Hi All,

I am a newbie to boats. My Better Half is from a boating family (probably 10+ Whalers in the clan) and wanted a boat, but I just didn't have enough interest in anything outside of a classic woodie (which I am too smart to own until I retire...same w/ a sailboat). Then came the lake house; did my research and we now have a used, low hours small Chaparral and a wonderful little boat for family puttering, tubing, etc.

Long story short is I am looking for something older w/ some character, but fiberglass. Thinking something from the 60's-mid 70's preferably with an outboard; Glasspar, Fabuglass, etc.

I am guessing that there is probably a lot of experience on this board and I welcome opinions.

One observation; real nice used boats and parts are no where near as expensive as I'd expected...maybe I've been numbed by niche cars over the years....

Thank you all and to those in storms' way, be safe.
..tolerant Wife...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old September 8th, 2017, 12:13 PM
JackW
Jack Walter
1966 109 SW Diesel

Glastron boats were pretty good back in the 1960's.
website detailing the boats of the mid-century period: http://fiberglassics.com/

There are some really neat small aluminum speedboats that date from the 1950's that match up with an old Land Rover spectacularly well. Feathercraft boats are really cool.

https://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/b...284338744.html

and the open bow fiberglass boats are very usable like this one

https://atlanta.craigslist.org/nat/b...281183636.html

Old September 8th, 2017, 12:43 PM
FlyersFan76
Chris
1987 110 Convertible

Registry