Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Non-Technical Discussions > Misc. Chit-Chat

Old September 10th, 2015, 03:09 PM
Grover
Mike
Birmabright Bread Box/Swagger Wagon

Registry
Unhappy Career change

I typically don't ask for advise or thoughts outside of Rover repairs but what the hell...

I recently moved up in ranks from an engineer (15 years) to engineering management and I'm finding the transition difficult. Yes, more $$$, but more headaches too.
I thought it would be better for my family, less travel, more flexible schedule, but I do not get the sense of accomplishment I did when I was doing engineering work.
I have a masters of science in engineering and have been technical my whole career. I have very little management experience. Managing people problems is so much different than managing technical problems.
I guess I could just work on my Defender to get my technical fix...lol

Any of you gone through this?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old September 10th, 2015, 03:26 PM
KGH
Real Name
#1-'13 110SW,#2-'87 127,#3-'12 LR4

Registry
People suck, and you can't fix them with a torch.

I got laid off yesterday, company politics.

Have offers, gonna chill for a while and mull it over.

Best career advice I recieved is to lay it on paper, map out future pros and cons.
Old September 10th, 2015, 03:33 PM
sonoronos
Ed
None

Registry
I have.

In my experience it all boils down to the company culture and who your boss is.

Are you a first line manager? Are you in a matrixed org? Are you a program manager or a functional one?

What exactly is the problem? Besides simply "managing people is tough". Do you have organizational objectives that you need to meet? Unless you're working for some tiny startup, it is inconceivable that the problems you are facing are unique.